monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And I bought a Best of the Gin Blossoms CD!

Why I am stressed and tired today:

When I woke up at noon, Rachel said that RA had invited us over for lunch. So we went out to lunch and RA made asparagus and tomato quiche. After lunch we went to the store to get dog food and buy jeans for Rachel. Of course I was wandering around Walm@rt in a daze like I always do and Rachel had to keep telling me to focus and leading me toward the dog food but hey! Shiny! So it took us longer than you'd think to get out of the store.

At 3:00 when Kim came home from school she said her back was still hurting, and it's up over her lung area in the middle of her back - wait, the backstory on this is that she had a very bad cold a month ago and missed an entire week of school, except that she went to school on the Wednesday and was so sick she should have stayed home, but I think the weather was bad that day and they sent the kids home early. Then last week I got sick of listening to her constant dry cough, and I called her doctor, who was so busy he couldn't see her but called in an prescription for a 5-day antibiotic. She finished that on Sunday but is still coughing and now saying her back hurts.

SO, that is why I called Same Day Care but they were full up and I knew we couldn't get in to see her regular doc, so we went to Urgent Care at the hospital where everyone knows us because the switchboard office used to be next to the ER admitting area.

I thought maybe she had pneumonia, but she had a chest xray and her chest looks fine. She had a breathing treatment from the a very cute Respiratory Therapist, and then they sent us home with a prescription for steroid meds for 5 days to take down the inflammation in her lungs and an albuterol inhaler for keeping her open and breathing. They also suggested taking a decongestant to stop the post-nasal drip, which is probably why she is coughing (and driving me crazy!). They didn't give her any antibiotic because she just finished the other one and it is still in her stystem, so she's covered there.

While we were there I had fun seeing my old admitting friends, and sold a pair of socks right off my needles! One of the ER nurses fell in love with them so I am finishing the toe of this pair tonight and I'll make the other sock this weekend and give them to her on Monday. I'm off this weekend and have plenty of time, some library books and movies, so I can finish the pink baby sweater AND the sock. So I went to the ER and made some money! That nurse wants a hat and mittens, too, but she says they can wait until November, so I have plenty of time to plan them.

Oh, and Rachel got a call from the hospital this morning while I was sleeping, offering her a summer nursing internship in the ER, so she is thrilled!

As we were waiting for Kim to return from Xray, I remembered that I had a doctor appointment this afternoon that I was missing, and it was a make-up appointment because I missed it last week when I was running around getting the antibiotic prescription filled for Kim and I forgot about the doctor appointment. It's just a checkup on my eye after the shingles, but now I am embarassed to have missed it twice!

When we got home, Rachel cooked some dinner while I returned some phone calls, and then we packed up her stuff and she burned a couple of CDs of a friend's music that is very pleasant. Then she left to go to Institute and back to her apartment tonight because she has to work in the morning.

This is my weekend off, but I am very tired now and I'm going upstairs to knit and read in bed.


9:13 p.m. - 2007-03-15
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter