monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Four days until the wedding. Well, three, because today is over.

Monday I was home alone all day in this dirty house, and finally I called Heidi to see if Chelsea was planning to come over and clean, because I was expecting her on Tuesday of last week, but she didn't come over, and every day she was going to come, but I guess when you're 14, you just have too much going on, so she never made it last week, and she promised to come on Monday.

Heidi said she would bring Chelsea later, and then we were just chatting, and as we talked, she carried the phone out to the garden to pick beetles off of her beans (!), so I was feeling lazy and thought I should do something, too, and I carried my phone with me to the laundry room, still chatting.

As I passed through the main part of the basement, I glanced over to the area that used to be Rachel's bedroom, and saw something dark on the floor. I immediately blamed the cats, because it looked like cat poop, which by extension puts the blame on Rich for not keeping the cat box clean enough, which is why they would poop in the basement, and I turned on the light to get a better look and OMG, that wasn't cat poop - it was a dead bat!! Oh, if it had only been cat poop!

I started screaming into the phone and trying to figure out what to do, because I was the only person at home! I can't clean up a dead bat by myself! Okay, so I got a grip on myself and told Heidi I was going to hang up the phone and just sort my laundry and pretend the bat wasn't there. Fine. So I went into the laundry room, and was still holding the phone with Heidi on the other end, but I stepped down onto something soft, and, because I was already on edge, I screamed and leaped up in the air, thinking it was something else icky! It was a sock. When I had calmed down, I sorted laundry, put in a load to wash, and went back upstairs, all without looking at the bat again.

Safely back upstairs, I called Rachel to see if she was on her way home - not that I thought she would pick up a bat, but I knew Ash was with her, and he's a man! He can pick up a dead bat, no problem! It's what men do!

So they were on their way to our house to borrow my van to move furniture, and Ash said he could, indeed, pick up a bat, although not with his bare hands, he wanted a paper towel or something. Hah! I was impressed, because I would have needed a snowshovel and a Hazmat suit!

They were still about an hour away from home, so I IM'd Rich at work and asked him what time he would be home, because I really needed someone to get over here to do dead bat detail, but he said he would be leaving work in 15 minutes to take Buffy to the vet and wouldn't have time to get Mr. Bat out of the basement until he got home!

So I just sat on the couch, and picked up a complicated piece of frustrating knitting to work on so I didn't have to think about my life here in Dead Bat Nation! That actually worked! I was so concentrating on picking up the correct number of stitches, and being pissed off because the numbers weren't right, that I was able to forget about Batty T. Fangs in the basement until Rich came home from the vet and took him out to the trash. Later, I ripped out the damn knitting.


Tuesday:

So when Rachel and I were shopping for red shoes for Rich (didn't find any), we bought a small bag of FIERY HABENERO Doritoes, just to bring home and let Rich try them. He has a pretty low tolerance for spicy foods, and is fun to laugh at when he eats them.

Rich was in the kitchen, doing the dishes, and Rachel and I were in the living room, watching TV while she wrote thankyou notes.

I went into the kitchen to get a glass of water to take a Tylenol PM, and I told Rich I was taking it so I could go to sleep early (i.e. before 2 a.m.) because I want to go with Rachel to do some errands tomorrow, and I said that I want to spend time with her while I can, since she's getting married in four days!

A minute later, Rich followed me back to the living room, drying his hands on a towel, and saying that Rachel keeps moving out, but she's like that cat in the song, The Cat Came Back, because she moves out, but she keeps coming back, and while he was talking, she casually held up the open bag of Doritoes and he took one, not paying attention, and put it in his mouth and then started reacting to it!

He was coughing and gasping for air, and he shoved the rest of the chips in his hand back into the bag! Rachel was laughing so hard she fell off the couch. It was pretty funny.

So that's what is happening here. Did I tell the tragic story of what happened to my cell phone on Saturday? I went out with Rachel to look for a wedding ring for Ash, and as we drove away from the house, I realized I didn't have my cell phone with me, but okay, I can live without it for an hour. Rachel had left hers home, too, and later we were wishing we had one, which is what's bound to happen when you don't have it with you.

We found a ring for Ash and the store was so nice and the owner was so nice, that Rachel wanted to call Ash and tell him to come to Freeport and they could pick out a ring for her, too. So we headed for home where we had phones, and as Rachel pulled up beside our house, I screamed, "Stop!" because there was my phone! Laying on street where it must have dropped as we were getting into the car!

I jumped out and grabbed it, and it was dead, with little pits in the beautiful Red case! The glass wasn't broken, but the phone wouldn't work. Sniff...

I called the insurance company to make (another) claim, and that was a bit embarrasing. It's the second claim I've made this year. Oh well, that's why I got the insurance.

We had to pry the battery out to read off the serial number that is printed under it, and then I laid my poor phone to rest next to my computer keyboard. Later, I heard my phone ringing! It was Rachel's salsa ring, and I jumped up, "Where is that coming from?" and it turns out that my phone had revived! Ash picked it up to see the damage, and he tried turning it on, and eureka! It was working! So my phone was miraculously recovered, but still pitted from gravel, which gives it a nice industrial look. I called the insurance company back, and cancelled my claim!

It's always something, isn't it?

9:39 p.m. - 2007-08-07
3 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter