monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I made a disappointing drink.

So yesterday, when I walked little dogs in the hilly little town? I damaged my knee! I knew I was jarring it on that last stretch on the steep downhill slope back to Kat's house, but the pain did not set in until later! Each time I got up during the night to do something, my knee was a little stiffer and hurt more! When I got home this morning, it was aching when I was trying to sleep so I got up and took some Advil. Oh, that reminds me, I should take more now.

A couple of days ago I read in Crazy Aunt Purl's blog that she is making smoothies for breakfast now, and she included a recipe for them. She's been trying to eat healthier, and a few weeks ago, she discovered Crockpot cooking, which inspired me to use my own crockpot more. It's nice to wake up in the afternoon to the smell of dinner being made!

Oh, so back to the smoothies - I went shopping at the health food store to buy some ingredients, like powdered soy protein and psyllium husk powder, and flax seed oil (it's making your mouth water already, isn't it?), and I went to the grocery store for Kefir, a yogurt drink, and some frozen blueberries. This afternoon when I woke up, I limped eagerly to the kitchen and mixed up a smoothie! I was so excited!

What I got was not quite a delicious as I expected, in fact it was a bit disgusting. I drank it down, but it was too thick, and also grainy. I gave Rich a drink of it, and he made a terrible face and quickly washed it down with a gulp of Mountain Dew! There was no added sugar in my smoothie, and I hadn't added the banana, either, because I forgot to buy any, so there was only the sweetness of the blueberries, and that wasn't very sweet at all. Hmmm.

Back to the store this afternoon, I bought some bananas and some Splenda, a sweetener that is not articfial, it is made of ... hmm, something natural. So tomorrow I'll try again. I'm sure it's good for me, since it doesn't taste good, right?

I went out with RA to deliver some of her Easter cupcakes that she makes every year, but when I got home, I was kind of cold - it was about 32 degrees out, and I didn't wear my coat again (Spring!) - and my knee was aching, so I went to bed. I'm reading a book I borrowed from Kat, and I had some knitting, of course, so I read, knitted, and rested my knee.

I'm back at work, and I took more Advil for my knee. Tomorrow will be the first time in years that I haven't had any kids at home to dye eggs with and buy candy for, and I'm not even going to make a big Easter dinner. It's so weird.

10:58 p.m. - 2008-03-22
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter