monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I visit a small town.

On Thursday it was a beautiful sunny Spring day! RA and I got a soda and took a drive out into the country to visit a sick member of the ward, because now that RA is Relief Society president, we do things like that. We laughed at the weather reports we'd been hearing, the reports that were predicting massive amounts of snow for Thursday night/Friday morning, and we enjoyed the way the bright sunshine was warming up the car - we didn't need to turn on the heater!

Today we woke up to cold and snow, but at least we didn't get the near-blizzard conditions that we were told to expect. We got a couple of inches, that's all, and it wasn't even all that cold. I didn't wear my coat, just a sweater, because it is Spring, dammit!

While I was taking a nap this evening before work, there was a little bit of sleet, though, just enough to make a thin layer of ice to scrape off of my windshield before I came to work. Too bad I wasn't wearing a coat with mittens in the pockets, because the scraping made my fingers cold.

Rachel has been in orientation all week for her new job at the hospital, which required her to be in our town early in the morning every day this week. Ash has been coming with her and just hanging out at our house because he's tired of being in their apartment by himself all day. Her orientation classes ended early today and when she came back to our house, she was talking about going to visit her friend Kat and her little dogs, and I love the little dogs, so I went with her. Ash and Rich stayed at our house. Some People don't want to play with the little dogs!

Kat recently bought a house and moved to a small town out in the country. Far out in the country, almost an hour away. Even farther than the little town RA and I went to yesterday! So we drove out to the country, and then drove around in the tiny, hilly little town until we found her house. The town is all hilly, and the houses are built onto the sides of hills, many of them with porches on stilts behind the house! Some of the houses were shabby looking, but that may have been just the grey skies making things look worse than they are. It was kind of Appalachian.

Not that the town was awful, it was just different looking than what I'm used to seeing. There were nice houses, too, and Kat lives in one of them.

The little dogs were happy to see us, and we took them for a walk (in the cold! and me without a coat, because it is Spring!), and I am so out of shape that I was huffing and puffing while being dragged up and down hills by a bouncing, busy, tree-sniffing little Scottie dog! There were three dogs, and three of us, so we each got a busy little dog to walk on a leash.

After we looked at the house, which is full of Kat's collections of art and things, so there was a lot to see, and what she lacks in furniture (so far), she more than makes up for in displays of her masks collection, and her Easter village display, and oh, I have to tell you, she has a three-tiered hanging rack of of dog clothes! She is just so much fun and she has a lot of books, too, which I consider to be an important part of a home. (I watch HGTV all the time and I notice that the homes rarely seem to have any books in them!)

We talked and looked at Kat's scrapbook of the trip she and Rachel went on to Egypt in 2006, and then we all went out to eat at the nearest restaurant, after which Rachel and I drove back home, bearing burgers and fries for the men. Who were happy to get them and they put the frozen pizza they were baking into the fridge for Rich and I to reheat for lunch tomorrow.

So here I am back at work, and Kim is supposed to call me later to let me know she is back safely from visiting Sando tonight. He's withdrawing from his classes and coming home early, so they wanted to do something together (video games, not smooching) before he leaves tomorrow. Kim isn't really happy out there and is missing her family, too, but she is at least finishing the semester before she comes home, thank goodness.

She's planning to transfer to a college closer to home, which is fine with me. I didn't want her to go in the first place, but she insisted. I don't think every LDS kid needs to be at BYU, but I'm glad she went out there and tried it, and she did do three semesters. It's been a good experience for her to be away from home and taking care of herself.

11:31 p.m. - 2008-03-21
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter