monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I get frostbite on my own front porch.

I have got to start putting on shoes when I go outside. Also a coat. I am sick of wearing my winter coat, and it is Spring, but too cold not to wear it. Okay, I can wear layers instead of a coat, but really, shoes are necessary.

Today a neighborhood friend came by with his three little dogs - these are Buffy's friends, and Rich always takes her to their house on their walks to say hi and mooch a dog biscuit - and I went out on the porch in my stupidly bare feet, to say hello and admire the very cute little dogs. They are all terriers, a Cairn, a Scotty and a Westie, very energetic and super friendly and Max, the Cairn, gave me many kisses!

Rich came outside too, and we all stood on the porch talking and I fed the dogs some doggie treats. My bare feet were getting colder and colder, and after about 30 minutes of standing on cold cement, I had to go inside. It was time for my evening nap anyway, so I went straight up to bed, and lay there, feeling the burn as my feet thawed out! I must not have been tired enough to really sleep, because it was one of those tossing and turning kind of dozes, not a good nap, but the whole time, my feet were feeling like they had a fever! So could I be any dumber than to get almost-frostbite on my own front porch?

Rich and I went to a movie this afternoon. Well, around suppertime, really, and I had theater nachos for dinner. I was talking happily to my children's former piano teacher who was ahead of us in the ticket line, while Rich was behind me paying for tickets and ordering popcorn and when I turned back to Rich he had ordered my nachos, and he ordered them just the way I like them, which really impressed me. In general he won't buy anything for me because he thinks he will get it wrong and I will scold him, but he has stood right next to me and heard me order nachos the same way enough times that he felt confident in ordering them. (Extra cheese and peppers!)

The movie we saw was 21, and it was very entertaining. I love Kevin Spacey, the students were attractive, and the music was good. I still want to see Horton Hears a Who, though. Maybe next week.

Still working on the white Anastasia socks, and I'm looking forward to starting another pair because I like this pattern so much! Oh, except that the pattern is knitted from the toe up, and I changed them to be knitted cuff-down. I've tried toe up socks a few times, but the toes always look like crap! This pattern had a different way of doing the toe, and I tried it, but yup, still crap. They were easy to make cuff-down, and they look great.

I have to go now and do some actual work, but I just want to tell you - my toes are still aching a little!

12:04 a.m. - 2008-04-02
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter