monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which we have a house invasion.

Another quiet day at home. I didn't have any errands to do, and I didn't even get up until 2:30, so there wasn't much of the day left. I did a little laundry, but didn't fold any of the clean clothes, so there are two baskets sitting in the living room.

Kim went with Sando to buy his books and find the location of his classes, because he starts school on Monday at the community college. He went back to his house afterward but ended up at our house tonight.

A couple of weeks ago Kim and Sando were talking about how many episodes of Scooby Doo they have watched, and they thought if there was a Scooby Doo trivia game, that they would really shine at it! I went right to Amazon.com and ordered one for them, and tonight they played that while they watched the Olympics and looked at stuff on their laptops. They are such multi-taskers!

Rich went to bed, I went to work, and Sando headed back home, and apparently about five minutes later, Kim heard a bird in the fireplace! This happens at least once a year, and we have developed a routine for dealing with it - we put the cats in another room and shut the door, take the grate and the metal liner out of the fireplace, and get out the fishing net. Then we wait, and eventually the bird comes out through a hole in one side of the fireplace liner wall. (Rich enlarged the hole a little with tinsnips the first time this happened.)

With Rich in bed and Sando gone home, Kim was feeling pretty brave about tackling the bird problem all by herself, but I thought it was a bad idea. I had a mental picture of Kim screaming and running around madly waving her arms to keep the bird off her head, which is actually a more accurate picture of what I would be doing if I were there!

I told Kim not to do anything until Rachel got there, and I called Rachel, who was at home getting ready for bed after enjoying a quiet evening alone with Ash out of town. She wasn't happy about it, but she dragged out to our house, and helped Kim pull the grate out of the fireplace, and prepare a sort of trap by taping the fishing net to the wall surrounding the hole. With duct tape, of course, because Rachel is the Duct Tape Queen! Very ingenious, I thought.

After a while, in which nothing happened, except that they could hear the bird flapping around, Rachel was tired and went home, leaving Kim in charge of the operation. Rachel had also deduced, correctly, as it turns out, that it was a bat that was in there. She told me to warn Kim to wear Rich's leather gloves when she made the trip to the door, holding the bat in the fishing net, to let it go outside.

So Kim was ready, with her bat trap prepared, and a big pair of leather gloves, but then the bat started messing around between the liner and the wall, and she was getting a little nervous, but not nearly as nervous as I was here at work!

I told her to wake up Rich and get him to help her, because I was very afraid that something would go wrong with the plan, and there would be screaming and running frantically around the living room, and it would all end in tears (and rabies shots)!

So I just had another call from Kim, to let me know that Rich was up and they had managed to trap the bat and get it outside, but they had to get a butterfly net (and don't ask me why I have all these nets - I just don't know) because the bat was working his way out of the wider holes in the fishing net. Kim said she had locked up the cats again, and Rich tied the dog up outside while she went upstairs and dressed herself in Rich's heavy winter coat and a hat, also a ski mask, and was wearing the leather gloves for protection, so I imagine that was pretty funny, and Rich was cleaning up after it all.

Whew! What an adventure!

1:18 a.m. - 2008-08-14
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter