monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I've had a long day.

Here is the pink sweater I finished last night, modeled by Kim:

Tonight I worked on the grey cabled hoodie while watching the Olympics, but I didn't watch as much, so not as much knitting got done.

I got a phone call from my friend Heidi this afternoon, to tell me she will be moving to San Diego in like, a week! Her husband has been looking for another job, and was offered this one, so they'll be gone soon, because school has already started there, and she wants to get the kids out there right away. That really just ruined my day.

After that I went out with RA to check out the new yarn store that opened just a couple of days ago. I saw an article in the paper this morning about three new businesses that opened in town, and skimmed it to see what they were, and I was very surprised to see that one of them was a yarn shop! Turns out that it's a reincarnation of a shop that I visited a couple of years ago in a town not far from here. She said she was closing that shop, not planning to open again, but she had the opportunity to rent the shop here in town, so she did. She doesn't have much stock yet, but she says she'll be getting more soon. I hope it works out for her, because I would like to have someplace close to get needles when I need them. I bought some sock yarn, because when I go to a yarn store, I always buy something. She says she'll have a lot of sock yarn later, so we'll see.

So that was nice, but then I was still sad about Heidi moving, and I went to bed, thinking that I would feel better if I slept some more. I only slept for an hour, and when I woke up, Kim and I went out to get some chocolate, took the two mile walk (to walk off the chocolate!) and finally sat down to knit a couple of rows.

There is a little drama among the morons on the housekeeping staff tonight. Rocky asked Lenny to help him with the laundry last night, and Lenny refused, using bad language, and told him to do his own work. Rocky was rude back to him, and Lenny went to their new manager this morning and told him about it, so Rocky got a light scolding when he came to work tonight. Tonight it's Lenny's turn to carry the pager, and the one with the pager does the laundry and gives the switchboard operator potty breaks, but when Lenny does the breaks, he only gives us two breaks, instead of the three he is supposed to do, which is annoying but not fatal. Well, Rocky called me earlier and told me Lenny is carrying the pager tonight instead of the new guy, Will, and Rocky told me that I should insist that Lenny do the the three breaks that he is supposed to, which is his revenge for Lenny making trouble for him. I'm thinking I will do it, because I've let it go a long time, but Rocky is right (amazing!) and Lenny should be doing it. Aaugh! I'm going to ask Mike the Gossip King what he thinks I should do...

11:38 p.m. - 2008-08-12
4 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter