monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I didn't get anough sleep, but I'll catch up later.

Oh my goodness, I am so tired! I worked last night, which was quiet and relaxing, and when I got home this morning, Rachel and Ash were already here. Rachel was in the kitchen making scrambled ham and eggs for us all!

Scott and Carolyn were on the couch with Soren, who was looking very sleepy. Kim had just dragged out of bed, and Rich was up, but Grandma and Grandpa weren't here yet!

We let the kids open their Christmas stockings and look at their loot while we ate the eggs and waited for Grandma and Grandpa.

When everyone was here we opened presents and admired our cleverness at surprising each other.

One of the best things I received this year was from Kim - she took the old beat up folder that I have been keeping recipes in for years, and replaced it with a big blue binder, and (with Carolyn's help) put all of loose pages of recipes into plastic page protectors! The old folder was a 101 Dalmations school folder, that had been overstuffed and was falling apart, that we called 'the dog folder,' as in, "That recipe is in the dog folder." Kim had drawn a picture of a Dalmation sitting with a monkey for the cover of the new binder, and labeled it, "Dog Folder." What is cooler than that?

It was almost 9 by the time we finished opening gifts, and I went to bed, only to wake up 3 hours later when I got a message on my cell phone from Jenna, who was excited because she got Animal Crossing for the Wii for Christmas! Yay! I can't wait until we can visit each other's town!

So I stayed up, and I'm pretty tired now, but it was a good day. We had a great dinner, a big roast that Rich's parents brought with them, with mashed potatoes and fantastic cranberry relish!

Oh, and I got to play Euchre again! I was so happy because I never have anyone to play with, and this week I have people to play with!

So I'm having a lovely Christmas with family, and I'm very grateful.

What I'm knitting today:

I should be working on the Surprise sweater, because I didn't finish it before Christmas - I gave it to Scott still on the needles! Instead, I'm knitting a striped stocking hat for Soren, because it's so cute I can't stop working on it.

What I'm reading today:

Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris. I know I've read it before, and I don't think I liked it, but I started it again on my Kindle because someone recommended it, and I'm enjoying it so far. I can't remember why I didn't like it the first time, but I don't remember much about it at all, it's just that it's familiar as I read it.

I'm going to bed now. I'm tired!

10:27 p.m. - 2008-12-25
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter