monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I become a dogsitter.

I woke up at 4 a.m. again, but since I went to bed at 10 last night, I'm not feeling as tired as I was when I woke up this early yesterday.

Rich had an early meeting in Rockford, so he left at 6:30, and I'm here alone, in the quiet house, with all the animals sleeping. Sarah's dog Thila is sleeping in the doorway between this room and the living room, and my two cats are sleeping on the couch behind me, well away from any big dogs who might want to play with them. The cats are not feeling the Thila-love at all.

I finally got the yarn room cleaned up Thursday afternoon. I changed the sheets on the guest bed in that room, and by the time I finished I was so sweaty and had breathed in so much dust that I just wanted to find my inhaler and sit in front of my computer playing solitaire with the ceiling fan blowing on me. I had lost the will to live, or to find pillowcases that matched the sheets!

Sarah and Chris got a little lost on the way here, but they finally made it. Their GPS had stopped working on the way here, but Sarah remembered how to get to my house and was rightfully proud of herself!

I had made lasagna, and was waiting for them to get here to have dinner with me, but they were a little later than expected, and I was really hungry, so I finally ate without them, and then started playing Animal Crossing. They were pretty hungry by the time they got here, and they seemed happy to eat my (slightly dry) lasagna while watching me play World of Peacecraft Animal Crossing. Dinner and a show!

Their friend Dean got here a little later, and had brought a sleeping bag, so I could have left the guest room bed unmade! Who knew? Oh well, it's got clean sheets on it for the next time we have company!

It was very pleasant company, and Chris and Dean were practically vibrating with excitement when they got up in the morning. They left early to go to Madison, so they could check out the course, and attend an orientation meeting, and Sarah stayed her with me, planning to drive up to Madison later to meet up with them.

I love having Sarah here and Diana is the same way - they are pleasant company, and easy to entertain. Sarah was happy to sit on the couch with her laptop, checking Facebook for status updates from her friends, and playing Scramble, which is pretty much what I do all day, too, so that was nice. We both needed an afternoon nap, and then later we cooked - she made noodles with butter and parmesan cheese for Chris to carbo-load on, and I made spaghetti and polenta with winter squash to feed the missionaries for dinner.

After dinner Sarah packed up her stuff, including the noodles for Chris, and left for Madison. Thila is staying with us for the weekend, which is why I was out in the front yard this morning in my nightgown, letting a dog potty, for the first time in months!

7:11 a.m. - 2009-09-12
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter