monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Happy Monkeys Day

I was starting to get nervous about the trip I'm taking to visit Scott, Carolyn and Soren, in SLC next week, but then this weekend I talked to Scott, and also, Ash found a nice-looking hotel for us, just a couple of blocks from Soren's house, and then Diana said she thinks she will drive out there to meet us on the weekend, so it's just getting better and better.

What we did this weekend:

When we got home in the middle of the night on Thursday, Rich and Kim unloaded both cars into the living room, and there were so many bags and boxes that some of them got stacked in the dining room as well. So on Friday Kim moved all the things from the living room up to her bedroom, and we can sit down on the furniture in the living room again!

I had an appointment for a cut and color on Friday, and both girls wanted their hair cut, too, so we all went to the salon. Kim's hair is a lot shorter now, but not as short as she wanted it! We are going back on Tuesday to cut some more. Rachel's hair is very cute now.

Friday evening Sando came over to sit on the couch in his usual place, and the kids ordered pizza and played some loud zombie-fighting game! Ash came over and stayed in the living room with them (Rachel was at work), watching TV and doing something on his computer, and apparently the noise wasn't bothering him, but I was tired, and tired of the screaming, so I went upstairs and went to sleep early.

On Saturday Sando and his younger brother, Sando Jr., came over and the three of them played a game on the TV that required them to all be connected through their handheld video games. They played that all afternoon, and apparently three of them playing as a team is better for winning stuff.

Kim's friend Philly came by to pick up his Xbox that she has been taking care of while he was in Europe, and he carefully checked to see that all the parts were there before he left, which was a good idea, because there was a cable missing.

Kim and Philly looked through all of the boxes that were still downstairs and then went upstairs to go through that mess, and they couldn't find the missing cable. Philly was reluctant to leave without it, so I went up to Kim's room with her while he played the game with the Sandos. I found an unopened bag of Bugles in a box with some of her stuff, so that was a bonus, and then when I kept looking in unlikely places, I found the missing cable at the bottom of a wastebasket that was filled with empty plastic shopping bags. Yay! I was the hero!

Philly left, and I sat down to knit and watch the kids play their game, which was not as noisy as the game they played on Friday. While I was watching, I saw that Kim was getting a message on her laptop that was sitting next to me, so I picked it up and had a chat with one of her friends online.

That was fun for me, because I always have a lot of questions to ask Kim about her friends but she gets tired of me asking things, mostly because she doesn't know the answers! So I got to ask nosy questions and was mightily entertained.

Except after that I started the downward slide into Travel Anxiety, and called Rachel for help. She is good at talking me off the ledge when Diana isn't available, and she is the one who put Ash on the job of finding a hotel for us.

Today we went to church and then came home for a nap before Rachel and Ash came over to grill hamburgers and make raspberry pie. We watched two movies, Flushed Away and For Your Consideration, so that was a pleasant afternoon/evening. I got a lot of knitting done on the edging of the pink baby blanket!

Now I'm back at work, where it is quiet but there are no video games or computer chatting to entertain me.

11:22 p.m. - 2009-05-10
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter