monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Take your chapstick, put it on your lips

I'm back at work tonight, after three days off. It was a longish, slightly dull weekend. It's not that I didn't do anything, but I kept finding myself in front of the computer, playing Solitaire on facebook.

Friday morning I woke up early, I mean like at 5:30, and I went downstairs to let Rich sleep. This weekend the weather really cooled down, so I was freezing in the den, which is the coldest room in the house because of all the windows. I made myself some eggs and toast and drank a Diet Pepsi, and then just putzed around on the computer, reading blogs and webcomics until Rich got up, and I went back up to bed to warm up my cold feet!

At about 8:30 I got up again (with nicely warm feet), and Rachel called to rant about her night at work. She was in full rant when suddenly her phone died. I cried, "Monkey, no!" but she was gone. A few minutes later she was at the door, asking if I wanted to go out for breakfast. I had already had breakfast, but it had been a couple of hours, so sure, I could eat.

We drove to BK, where you can get a Whopper for breakfast, which is what Rachel wanted, and I just got an order of delicious greasy hash browns, and ate those while Rachel finished telling me about her night. Then she took me home, and she went back to her place to sleep.

I was sitting in front of the computer again, playing a little solitaire and drinking another DP, when RA called. She wondered if I had already eaten breakfast. "I could eat," I said, so she picked me up and we went to the Beltline for scrambled eggs and bacon. We usually have breakfast there on weekdays, but it's a different waitstaff on the weekends, so instead of the usual annoying but nice older waitress who calls us girls (ugh!), we had a young girl, who called us ladies, and also 'you guys.' Sometimes in the same sentence. I wanted to scold her for it, but I just rolled my eyes behind her back. Several times.

After three breakfasts, I didn't need to eat again until dinner.

RA had a couple of errands to do, and while we were driving around, we passed the farmers market, and you know we had to stop there! I don't know what I was thinking, because you know I'm not a gardener, but I brought home a big pot of herbs! It has a huge purple basil plant growing all over two sides, thyme dripping down the other side and some stalky-looking parsley in the middle. It smelled good, and the purple basil was so beautiful! I am always needing basil in recipes, and if I buy a packet of fresh basil to use, I only ever use half of it and the rest dies, so I hope that this plant will fulfill all of my hopes and dreams and basil needs!

There were some other, smaller plants in styrofoam cups, and the seller told me they were lavender. I rubbed a leaf and smelled it, and it smelled so good that I had to buy one of those, too. I was told to replant it when I got home, and to let it get completely dry before I water it, which is my kind of plant! I plan to use the pot that I was growing spider plant babies in, since they all died. I don't know why, because the mother plant is just fine, and I was very disappointed. I haven't repotted the lavender yet, but I will do it this week.

So now when I go into the kitchen, it is smelling faintly of basil and making me so happy. I hope I can keep all these plants alive. I kind of suck at it.

Saturday I did a little laundry, but nothing else in the line of cleaning. Rich vacuumed the Patsy-hair from the living room rug without being asked, and then he took the vacuum apart and showed me the massive gobs of cat hair that were preventing the vacuum from picking up as well as it could. Thanks for that demonstration, now could he vacuum the stairs? I would be happy to look at more cat hair blobs if it meant more vacuuming was being done.

Saturday evening Rich went to a movie by himself, because there was nothing showing locally that I want to see, but he has read The Time Traveller's Wife and liked it, so he wanted to see the movie. I liked the title of that book, and I kept picking it up in the library, but then I would read the blurb on the inside of the jacket, and remember that it sounded awful the last time I looked at it, and put it back down.

So Saturday was another dull evening at home, but at least I didn't have to see that movie. Rich thought it was really good, but I don't have much faith in his judgement where movies are concerned. He is too easy to please.

Today I went to church, and that was fine. Nobody annoyed me, and the talks were okay. Rich came home and took a nap after lunch, and I talked on the phone with Scott and then Diana while I played Solitaire on facebook.

When I started feeling sleepy, I went upstairs to read in bed, but for some reason I started texting Diana. We were thinking about Grandma because it was her birthday on Friday, and we started asking each other Grandma Trivia Questions, and Rich woke up because I was laughing so hard! At some point we had the brilliant idea of making a How Well Do You Know Grandma facebook quiz! Brilliant! I worked on it while Diana had company at her house, and then I sent her what I'd done and went to get a nap before work.

When I woke up, she was working on the questions some more and typing them into the quiz application, but I had to go to work before she was done, so I haven't seen it yet. She read it to me over the phone tonight, because I can't access facebook from work, thanks to their virus-ridden software, and Rachel has already taken the test and scored a very respectable 85%! Good job, Chocolate-drop Eyes!

12:14 a.m. - 2009-09-01
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter