monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm tired.

I'm so tired! I slept until 2 in the afternoon, so that was a good amount, but I'm so sleepy tonight!

We went to see the Harry Potter movie, and it was good! Rich and Rachel left work early and we met at the theater, where we didn't have to stand on line too long, and every one in line was friendly and excited.

The theater wasn't full, maybe because it was an afternoon show, so that was a good thing, too. I knitted on the second blue sweater for Bertha while we watched the movie, which was long, but very enjoyable. It didn't seem as long as it was.

We were all hungry when we got home and after we ate whatever we could scrounge from the fridge, we hung around the house in varying degrees of tiredness, talking on the phone to Scott, and in Kim's case, aimlessly watching cartoons.

Rachel went to Ruthann's to sit with her mother while Ruthann and her husband went out, and while she was gone, one of her friends called to see if we still wanted to get together and play games or something, but he was tired, and so was I, so we decided maybe next weekend would be better.

When Rachel got home, she sat on the couch and talked to Jason until she was almost asleep. She was getting ready to go to bed, so I mentioned a couple of things that she needs to do tomorrow, and she reminded me that she was going to Chicago to see her friend Misty. She was looking so tired and pale that I got mad at her and told her she needed to stay home and rest instead of running around and coming home exhausted!

She said that Jason had said something like that too, so I made her call him back and tell him that I want her to stay home, so that he could tell her it was a good idea and that she needs the rest. However, he is a big baby who doesn't want to tell her what to do, so he didn't push it. I hate him.

I left for work and when she was done talking to Jason she called me, but she was so tired and snivelly, that it was making me feel both angry and guilty. I was mad at her for not taking care of herself and guilty for not letting her have fun with her friend. So I scolded her and finally I could hear that she was going to start crying the way she does when she is too tired, the way that turns into hysteria, what we call a meltdown, so I told her to go to bed.

I sat here feeling like a bossy mom who should let her make her own decisions, and finally I called back to tell her to do what she thinks she can handle, and she was already in bed and almost asleep. Good. I just hope she doesn't get up tomorrow and decide that she feels good enough to go to Chicago, because I know how tired she'll be when she gets home.

11:32 p.m. - 2001-11-16
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter