monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"You aren't planning to go to this, are you?"

Last night was the ward Christmas party, and we went to it because Kim was on the program to play the harp. I was asked to make a dish for the dinner, but I was panicking about it, and finally I called the RS president and told her I couldn�t do it, and I asked a friend to make some of her good Spanish Rice to take the place of whatever they were expecting me to make. Well that slacker, she said she would, and then she didn�t do it! That is so annoying! There was plenty to eat but it was all weird stuff, I mean seriously weird, stuff that even I wouldn�t eat more than a couple of bites of.

Scott's friend Heather was there and she brought her boyfriend and he is darling! He�s a smart little cynical geek, kind of like Scott. He was there with one of the Weber boys, and another friend of theirs, and they all looked kind of punky and antisocial, but I ended up sitting out in the hall knitting for a while to get away from the crowd, and Heather�s boyfriend and the other kid who wasn�t a Weber was there and they were perfectly friendly and pleasant. I told them they should come in when the musical program started so they could hear Kim play the harp (Heather�s boyfriend plays the violin, and I though he would enjoy it) and they came in and stood in the back with me. At one point the Weber kid came up to say they could leave, but Heather�s boyfriend said they had stay to hear the harp, haha, so they all stayed until Kim played, and she was the last one.

There was absolute silence while she played and people were standing up to see her, and she got a lot of applause. She played Oh Holy Night, and she did a beautiful job! She was praised by everyone afterward and she was pretty darned pleased with herself!

Earlier in the evening David's mother came over to sit by me and started talking about this and that, and she said that David told her that I wrote good letters to him and shared the gossip with him and he asked why she didn�t do that, and she said it was because she has a life. Excuse me? What does she do that is so darned important? She has a job, but so do I, so I don�t know where she gets off thinking she is so special. I�m sure she thought she was being funny, but I hope she wasn't waiting for me to laugh.

8:07 p.m. - 2001-12-15
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter