monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The day before the day before Christmas

Dear Mooksy,

We went to Chicago yesterday to pick up Scotty 2 Hotty, and he's home! The traffic was heavy going into and out of Chicago, but I'm not sure if that is because of the holiday, or because it's Chicago. On the way home we passed an older car driven by a big heavy man with long silver-gray wavy hair and a big silver-gray beard, wearing a Santa hat, so apparently when Santa isn't out driving his sleigh pulled by reindeer, he is cruising in a 1987 Chevy Cavalier

I still have a bad cold today, so I stayed home from church, and I am sitting in the den now, watching it snow! Yes, that's right, we are finally getting some snow! Grandpa and Grandma and Jeanette are driving down here today, so I hope it's not snowing harder than this wherever they are right now. It's very very light snow, I mean so light that you squint and go, "Is that snow?" and then there is a little flurry of five flakes and you go, "Hey, it's snowing!"

So we picked Babs up from Hot Diggity Dog yesterday at noon and she is all clean and fluffy. Her fur is growing out and it's longish now so she looks like a sheep dog, and she's all white and beautiful! You should see how pretty her feet look - they are trimmed and clean, and they look a little smaller than what you'd expect, so Scott thinks she looks like a sissy with little sissy feet. Dad and I think they look pretty!

Oh, I forgot to tell you that on the luminaria walk last week, we had Babs with us, and a little girl about 4 yrs old petted her as we walked by, and we heard her say to her parents, "I petted the pretty doggy!" So now you know what Dad is making the dog "say" - "I'm pretty! That girl said so!" Yes, he's a lunatic.

When we were in the airport, waiting for his bag to come down, Scott murmured, "I'm going to see the CATS!" and it was so cute! When we got home Patsy was laying in his usual spot on the stair wall, and Scott was so happy to see him! Then he found Chester and carried him around, too, and we fed them Whisker Lickins (pause here for maniacal giggling from Rachel) in the shape of mice! Chester curled up on Scott's suitcase on the floor, and pretty soon Patsy came over to lay on the suitcase, too, and shoved Chester off with his big Patsybutt.

So Scott and I stayed up last night and watched the end of Mighty Aphrodite, which turned out to be a good movie, so I don't know why I never rented it before, and then we watched Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels, and it was pretty good. It would have been better with subtitles, so we could understand them through their thick accents, and we had a hard time telling one group of Limey crooks from another because they all looked alike, but we enjoyed it. I had to explain Cockney rhyming slang to Scott, who had never heard of such a thing. Bottle Rocket = pocket, Chevy Chase = face, butcher's = butcher's hook = look, etc. There was a lot of killing and bad language in it, which Scott isn't used to, living on Mars and all.

I also rented High Fidelity to watch again, and another Woody Allen movie that's about 20 years old, called Interiors, but I doubt that I'll get a chance to watch it. That's okay, I had two free rentals, so I didn't pay for them anyway.

While Jeanette is here we're planning to have a Mamet-fest! She hasn't seen Wag the Dog, State and Main or Spanish Prisoner, so we're going to watch all of them. Dad wants a DVD of Wag the Dog for Christmas! I might go out to the video store this afternoon to rent the ones we don't have and take back the ones that are due. I know it's Sunday but Jeanette is here!

It's snowing a little harder now. It's not blizzard-like, just a light, steady snow and it's gathering on the ground. If it's snowing in Chicago it's probably heavier because of the lake. The other day when I was talking to my mom on the phone and she was in particularly fine Old Lady-mode, she said something about us getting "all that lake-effect snow". Yes, mom, we get the lake-effect all the way across the state, 120 miles away, it's blowing up a blizzard here, thanks to that lake-effect.

Jeanette asked me to make a roast today and some mashed potatoes without garlic! Can you believe that? So I went shopping last night, and took Scott with me, so we could buy a turkey for Christmas and a roast for today. When I talked to Grandpa last night I told him we were making a roast in the crockpot, because Jeanette wants it, and he said I never make any roasts for him, but I pointed out that anytime I offer to make something, he says he'll just pick up a bucket of chicken or get a pizza, so I never make anything.

Oh darn, I don't see any snow at all now. I got dressed and put in Christmas earrings today, so I hope everyone appreciates my festivity. Someone needs to vacuum this house before our company comes today.

a few minutes later...

I just went up to the yarn room and went through all of my piles of knitting mags and books, looking for the Two Sticks and a String book. I need to make another Aran Pullover from that book for Scott, to trade him for the one I made him out of the wool and lama blend yarn. That sweater has no bounce-back, I guess the lama yarn makes it not as stretchy as wool? Anyway it's lost its shape, and Scott has no shape, so it just bags all over and I want to make a better one for him. He said he wants that same pattern because he likes it, so I'm going to start it in the Patons Aran Fishermans Wool, as soon as I finish the Age of Aquarius sweater for him. I'm on the second sleeve, so I should be able to finish it before he goes back to school. Then I'll put the pattern with your unfinished sweater so you can finish it after your mission and give it to Jason for a wedding present -- she said with a bitter laugh.

Well I'm going to go knit and read for a while. While I was searching for knitting books, I found a copy of a magazine with an article about The Lord of the Rings, and it talks about how the movie-makers made the hobbits look small, so I want to let Scott read it. He was talking about it last night. He didn't get to see it on Friday with Ashley, as it was sold out when they got there, so they went to Harry Potter instead. We'll probably go to it sometime this week.

love you muchly,

Mumsy

9:54 p.m. - 2001-12-23
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter