monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The One Ring.

31 January 2002

Dear Rachel,

We got a small package from Karin to Scott in the mail yesterday! I forgot to tell him about it when I talked to him from work, but when I got home I saw it on the kitchen counter and I called him to tell him about it. I was squeezing it with my fingers and said, �I think it�s a ring, do you want me to open it?�

Scott said yes, so I opened it and pulled the note out and then kept reaching inside for the ring while I read the note out loud, and it said, �Hey Scott, Thought you might like this, but be careful, Absolute power corrupts absolutely� and when I got to the line about Power corrupts, he said, �Did she send me the One Ring?� Well, I was still feeling around inside the envelope, and I said, �Wait, it�s not in the envelope,� and I started looking on the counter and on the floor for it, and checked the front of my sweater to see if it was there, because I FELT it in the envelope but I couldn�t find it and I had the freaky feeling that it had made itself invisible because it didn�t want to be found, but then I lifted the note and it was still folded inside. Very weird.

So Scott is very excited that she sent him the One Ring, and he wants me to put it in the mail immediately. It snowed a ton here yesterday, but the roads are clear now, so as soon as I get dressed I�ll go mail it. He said he was going to write her a note right away because she is probably wondering why she hasn�t heard from him � it was mailed two weeks ago! I don�t know why it wasn�t delivered � it had a forwarding label slapped on over the address.

I found an email list yesterday for the mothers of Argentina missionaries, so I joined it and wrote a little introductory note about me and my missionary, and I�ve gotten letters back from two moms already and I could not be more thrilled! One of them has a son who is in BAS and has been there for 6 months, so he will be coming home around the same time as you, and the other one has a son who just went to the MTC on Jan 9. It was so nice to hear from other moms! This list is already better than the one I�ve been on for a while, so I�m thrilled with it.

I called Harold and Bertha last night to tell them we talked to you, but I was calling from work and I had to keep putting them on hold because of other calls, so they got tired of it. Too bad! Anyway, Bertha just kept asking me questions that I don�t know the answers to, so I was glad to get that over with. My mother doesn�t ask me anything, which is just as irritating in its own way.

Kim only had a half-day of school today and then because of the snow, school was cancelled, so she is home with me � she�s sitting on the couch playing with her Gameboy. She had a screen open on the computer when I got up, with some hints on the game she is playing, so I guess she�s going to be playing all day.

Last night was the New Beginnings program at church, and Dad and Kim went and she played the prelude music on her harp, and did some small part in the program. She said she choked up a little bit over the song, but she didn�t cry. What a brave little baby.

I just talked to Ruthann and she is sounding pretty bad today. She ran out of her anti-depression medicine, so she went out this morning to get her prescription filled. We went out yesterday when she had a nurses aide there (she has one every Wednesday and Friday) and we just did our usual little errands. We went to the library and then to Alvarez Mexican restaurant to eat. I like it better each time I go and try different foods. I had a really spicy chicken dish yesterday that we ate rolled up in tortillas.

I told Ruthann about the ring Karin sent and she said she has some bubble wrap and a small mailing envelope, so she is going to have David McD drop it off after he shovels her sidewalk. He is going shopping with his mom today to buy mission clothes!

When I got up, our walk was already shoveled and I think the same guy who did it last year came by and did it again! Woo wooo!! I am so happy about that, because I didn�t want to do it, and I know Dad has karate tonight and won�t have time! Actually I was thinking of calling David to do it, too! I think I�ll send Kim out to shovel the front steps. Haha, I just told her I want her to do that, and she started complaining in a good-natured way, that it was WORK, so I told her she could probably check off something in her personal progress book if she did some work. I also said I would make a hot lunch for her while she does it, so that made it sound better, too.

Okay, I have to get dressed now and go start cooking lunch. I love you boosky, and I can�t wait to hear from you!!

Love you muchly-

Mumsy

11:54 a.m. - 2002-01-31
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter