monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Skipping church.

3 February, 2002

Dear Mooksy,

It�s Sunday, and it�s been a full day already, so I�m ready to go back to bed. Dad is taking a nap, and Kim is reading a book for Literature and doing a chapter review on it. It�s called Cheaper by the Dozen, and I love that book, so she read some of a chapter out loud for me, and I want to get a chance to read it before she turns it back in.

So it was Fast Sunday and I was sort of dreading it, but trying to have a good attitude about it, and it wasn�t bad. The first people to bear their testimonies after the Bishopric member finished, were a bunch of kids, all of them around Kim�s age, so Kim said she felt like she needed to bear hers, too. During the beginning of the meeting, she had been knitting the ribbing of a hat that I�m working on (more about that later), but when she started thinking about bearing her testimony, she gave it back to me so that she could concentrate on what she had to say. She was very nervous, but finally she went up and sat next to Sister H, who was also waiting, in the deacon�s row, and she just waited for her turn and did a very nice, grown up, non-embarrassing job. She didn�t cry or anything, and she talked about being nervous and her testimony, and a little bit about reading a scripture with her parents about Faith, and about nurturing faith like a seed, and then we all sang a primary song about Faith is like a little seed and she felt like we were very close. She mentioned that her brother and sister were at college and on a mission, and she knows they are having experiences to help their testimonies grow, and it was all very nice. She did a good job.

Then after sacrament meeting, I went out in the hall to say hi to Nancy N and show her my hat and see what she was making, and then Debbie H came up and she was about to leave to go to Sterling to make an announcement about girls camp in their YW meeting (she�s the camp director this year), and she asked if I wanted to go with her, just for company, so I took my knitting and we went to Sterling.

It was fun! We talked on the way, and she said that Stephanie is doing well in Oklahoma and she has a job as a C.N.A. in a hospital, and she also is a substitute teacher! So good for her!

When we got to the ward, we sat on the couches and waited for SS to end, so she could go to YW, and we talked to people that she knew and that I knew and I saw Joe�s father (ugh) and he told me that Joe was getting married, duh. Later I saw Betty and she sat down to talk and we were chatting about this and that when his dad showed up again and kind of scolded her for skipping RS. I think he was trying to be funny. Ass.

It was really fun, and on the way home, Debbie told me about an Orchestra in Rockford for youth ages 11-21 that Heather plays with, and she was a little apologetic about it being on Sunday, as if I care, but she thought that Kim might want to play in it. It�s funny that everyone is so impressed by Kim playing the harp! So I did think it sounded cool, but when I got home I told Kim and she said it did sound good but she didn�t think she should since it�s on Sunday and all. Yeah, right, and wait until the next time Grandpa wants to go to Applebees on Sunday!

David McD came to church wearing the vest I finished for him and it looks good! He looks fabulous in it! It is a perfect fit and I�m thrilled! I hope Scott�s looks that good on him � I�m a little worried about it being too small, but when I told David that, he said that maybe it just looks small to me after I made the big one for him. That�s true, so I�ll just finish it up and maybe try it on Kim and see if it looks a little big on her, that will be a good check of the fit. Her and Scott have about the same size chest measurement, haha!

Jason IM�d me on Friday. He was over at his mom�s doing laundry. He said he�s been really busy with church, work, and school. I told him that we talked to you on Tuesday and he said he was so jealous. He also said he was having trouble getting people excited about FHE, although there was some huge turnout, 21 people, I think he said, for a skating activity the week before, so that�s not too shabby. He said he was going to a stake dance that night, so it sounds like he�s getting out. He didn�t mention dating anyone, so I guess you�ll have to fill me in if you get any news about that. I didn�t ask because I didn�t want to pry. You know how I am about that, I don�t like to be nosy, not me. He said he�d call me at work that night, but of course he didn�t.

I�m on a new email list for mothers of missionaries in Argentina, and that�s nice, but I still don�t get enough mail. One of the missionaries who is in the MTC now but will be going to BAS later, is named Gibert, and his mother is in Aunt Inger�s ward in Farmington Hills, MI.

So the hat I�m working on is an Aran-type design, but I don�t know yet what it�s going to look like, since it�s a surprise. It�s a knit-a-long project on one of the knitlists. We get the directions a little at a time while she makes them up. So far we had done 7 inches of ribbing and then it is to be folded up and knitted to itself to make a double layer of ribbing. I am on the joining now, and I�m looking forward to the next step.

My other WIPs are the vest for Scott, in charcoal grey DK weight Encore, and the two Norwegian sweaters for you. I�m saving those for Olympic knitting, since you are in no hurry to get them. I�m planning to start a sweater or two for ME next. I just ordered a back issue of Knitters magazine that has a pattern in it, and as soon as I get that I�ll start the sweater. It�s a simple top-down sweater written for plus sizes. I�m thinking of making another Aran sweater of some kind, too, but I�m not sure what or who it will be for.

I can't wait to get a letter from you!

love you-

Mumsy

3:17 p.m. - 2002-02-03
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter