monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Night at the movies

23 March, 2002

Saturday

Dear Scott-

This has been a very lazy week for me. I haven�t accomplished one single thing! All I�ve done is sit on my butt and knit and read my library books! I�m feeling very guilty about that now. I also completely forgot about writing a letter to David this week, so when I got his letter today, thanking me for writing, I felt like a big rat for not writing him a letter!

David sounds like he is doing fine, but apparently he has a terrible craving for McDonalds food! He wants me to tell Joel to sneak him in some food on his Pday, but I�m not going to do that. He can just follow the rules like he should, and when he goes to Las Vegas he can go straight to a McDonalds and get some food and it will taste like heaven.

We are going to see Gosford Park today for our family movie experience. I hope Kim won�t be too bored, but I really want to see this one. I guess I could wait until it comes out on video, but this will be fun because we�ll be the only people in the theater. It�s been out for a long time, and it�s at Colonial Village now, that pit!

I just found out last night that Gosford Park is rated R, and at first I thought oh no, I can�t take Kim to that, but actually, it�s just for language, which she hears plenty of from me, and for some sexuality, which she sees lots of on TV, on shows like Just Shoot Me and Spin City, so I got over it. I wouldn�t have even looked at the box to check the rating if I was getting it in the video store, and I would let her watch it with me at home, so I don�t know why I have any reservations about seeing it in the theater.

Yesterday Kim was tidying up her room and she suddenly went downstairs to �get something� that she was acting a little sly about, but when she went by me on the way back to her room, I could see that it was just a ski glove that she had got from the hall closet. I asked her what she needed that for, and she said, �Nothing,� and I suggested that it was to protect her from the cats, but later I found out that she used the glove to hold a stick that she was throwing outside into the bushes beside the house. It�s a long, forked stick with an interesting shape that she found outside and has had in her room for about two years. You�d recognize it if you saw it. I think she brought it in after she used it to act out one of their scenarios with Erik or Cole.

I asked her why she needed a glove to carry it outside and she said because it was probably covered with bacteria! Umm, right, but it�s been in her room for at least two years, so why is she suddenly thinking of bacteria now? She had that filthy baby bird, probably full of lice, living in her room, flying around and pooping everywhere, and she thought that was adorable, but a perfectly clean stick is too nasty to hold in her naked hand? She is so weird.

And while we�re talking about weird, when I got home from work this morning, I said hello to Kim, who was watching TV and sitting in Zorro�s spot in front of the heat register, and then I headed upstairs to bed. Zorro ran up the stairs ahead of me, stopping once to look back over his shoulder, like Lassie, to see if I was following him! I said, �What is it, boy? A forest fire?� but then I knew what he wanted � and I was right � he ran into the bathroom ahead of me and waited by the toilet, because the lid was down and he wanted me to lift it so he could get a drink. That�s why all of our toilet seats have scratch marks on them, from Zorro�s claws! The other day I was using the toilet and he was pacing next to me waiting to get a drink and he actually bumped my butt with his head to try to get me off the seat! �Hey lady, what do you think you�re doing? I drink out of that!�

Later �

We just got back from the movie and a happy little trip to Barnes & Noble. I got a knitting magazine and a diet book, and Kim got a book, too. I saw a cute young boy, so I found Kim and told her how to flirt with someone in a store, and then we went to find him so she could try it out, but when she saw him she said he was old, and on second look, I had to agree that he was at least 16. Oh well, I�m getting old when all boys look about 12 to me.

I loved the movie, but Kim was bored and Dad was wondering when the car chases would start. It was wonderful, very British Houseparty Murder Mystery and the murder was very much secondary to the people, both upstairs and downstairs. I loved it and I can�t wait until it comes out on video so I can watch it again.

Next week we have to find something with action, though, because I owe Dad and Kim. Kim was really complaining when we sat there for the credit crawl � oh my goodness, she was even crying a little because she was tired and crabby about the whole thing. So we took her to B & N and then stopped at McDonald�s on the way home and she cheered up, but she�s tired, so she has already gone to bed.

Well, I�ll mail this on Monday. Love you.

Mumsy

12:44 p.m. - 2002-03-23
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter