monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Talked to Scott

17 March, 2002

Dear Mooksy,

We�ve been home from church for a couple of hours, and Kim had to stay for BYC, but she�s home now, too. Dad made fried chicken strips � hey is that milenesa?

It�s been a long week, since I had to work the 3-11 shift four days in a row, and I get darned tired of it. I have to work 11-7 tonight, and then have two days off, so that�s okay.

So we went to our weekly movie yesterday, and before that we had lunch at Caf� Mondo. They have big, delicious-looking sandwiches, but I wasn�t hungry, so I just had a bowl of soup that was merely tolerable. Kim had a homework assignment to make scrapbook of all the local politicians running the election to be held on Tuesday, so Dad took her to the library and downtown to gather flyers and whatnot, and they decided to eat at one of the little downtown restaurants. I had been hungry at home so I had a peanut butter sandwich and then they came home and wanted to go and eat, so I just went with them for fun.

Later we went back out for a movie, and we saw Ice Age. It was okay. It was no Shrek! There is another movie opening next week that we�ll go to, but I can�t think of the name of it right now.

Later:

So we�re just sitting in the living room tonight, watching the weirdest version of Snow White ever made. It�s very hallucinatory, in my opinion, and it�s got elements from other Grimm fairy tales mixed into it. I was not enjoying it, but then Scott called to say he had met with his bishop and had his mission papers in his hand!!

So he started filling them out over the phone, and it was fun. He can just go to Student Health to get his physical and dental exams, so that�s nice and easy. He is so funny, at one part he was filling out his medical history and he got to a question that asked if he has used recreational drugs, and he laughed and said he didn�t know that was a real phrase, he thought it was a �mom-ism�.

Now he is off the phone and going to a missionary preparation ward activity tonight, that he made the flyers for. He said that everyone liked his flyers, and he had drawn a comic on them. Hmmmm.

Tuesday

Yesterday was the lost day since I had to work Sunday night at 11 and went to bed immediately at 7 when I got home from work. I slept until noon and then got up and hung around the house all day, doing nothing. I knitted, read a book, and watched a movie in the evening with Kim and Dad.

The movie was Seems Like Old Times, with Goldie Hawn and Chevy Chase. It was on HBO when you were a baby, and Dad and I used to watch it whenever it was on and we never got tired of it. So when Amazon said it was coming on DVD I ordered it. Kim didn�t think she�d like it, but she was laughing at it, too.

I was tired last night and went to bed early. So then I had an awful dream, and I recognize parts of it from that terrible version of Snow White that was on TV on Sunday! That show gave me nightmares! I dreamed it twice, too, because as soon as it ended, I dreamed it again. It was a re-run!

Last night I was talking to Kelly, Karin�s little sister, on AOL, and I was chatting with Scott at the same time, so I opened a chat window so we could all talk at once, and Kelly told us that Karin is engaged!

It�s a little embarrassing, because Kelly says she told me before, and I kind of think she did, but it was at the beauty school, while she was doing my hair, and I wasn�t really paying attention, because I remember catching the end of it, and being vaguely aware that she had told me something significant about Karin, and I was too embarrassed to ask her to tell me again. So I think she�s right, she did tell me.

Anyway, Karin�s mother is upset because she is engaged to a guy she just met, and it must have been this semester, because I got a letter from Karin when she first got back to school in January, and she said she wasn�t dating anyone. He�s a returned missionary, but he�s 24, and she�s 19, and he gave her a ring and a set of scriptures with her first name and his last name embossed on them. They�re planning to get married in August. Oh my goodness.

Dad thought that Scott might feel bad about it, but Scott is just happy to have her off of his conscience. Now Kelly says she wants to marry Scott, so she can be a Duede. That is so cute.

I have to go get a manicure, so I�ll print this and get it in the mail. Love you boo.

Mumsy

12:39 p.m. - 2002-03-17
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter