monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mother's Day

12 May, 2002

Dear Mookaburra,

I was so happy to get your call today! I wish I had gotten the email telling me to expect it, because I was very down, thinking that you wouldn�t be calling. It was hard to go to church, knowing that people would be asking if we were excited to hear from you, but fortunately, not too many people mentioned it. Sister McD was going around inviting people over to talk to David from a list he sent her of his friends, so after your call, Scott went to David�s house.

Ryan Hamer is home from his mission and apparently he is home a few months early, but was honorable discharged, so I don�t know what that is about. I�ll have to ask Shelley, I�m sure she�ll know. Preston Johnson is home and looking very heavy and older, I swear he looks at least 30; I didn�t even recognize him at first. Joel was at church today and he asked about you, and he asked Scott more later when he saw him at David�s. I�ll give him the URL for your website so he can read your letters if he wants to.

For Mother�s Day Kim gave me a hideous terrarium that she made on a field trip with her science class � it looks like a bottle of dirt! Scott made a very funny Mother�s Day card when he was helping Nancy with a primary class � it points out that mother spiders eat their young!

So we got a new Bishop and counselors today, Anthony Thompson is the bish, and Mark Hamer is the first counselor, Hugh Hardie is the second. We were spared the gushy Mother�s Day talks because all the incoming and outgoing bishopric people and some of their wives were bearing their testimonies.

I should have made a list of questions to ask you when you called, but I was pretty sure you weren�t going to call, so I didn�t. I feel like a bad mother for talking about myself so much, but I�m very excited about your baptism today, and it�s amusing that you and your companion dumped your investigators and are looking for new ones! I�m so proud of you, and I know you are doing an excellent job. How are things going with your neighbors?

Scott and I are being very lazy slugs. We keep saying that we�re going to get up in the morning and read our scriptures, but then we don�t get up until 10:30 or 11:00, and we don�t read our scriptures, we sit on our lazy bums and watch crappy movies. We have watched at least a dozen movies in the two weeks he�s been home! We�re terrible! We do put in a load of wash occasionally, and this week I am determined to paint the upstairs bathroom!

Kim is just being the most organized, conscientious little student ever, and she packs her bag and plans her homework in the cutest way. She is getting so cute, too, wait until you see her. When I take pictures of Scott in his suit next week, I�ll take a picture of Kim for you, too.

Scott and I are going to be making some sushi tomorrow. We found a few sheets of Nori in the cupboard, and we bought cucumber, avocados and crab. We need to go to Rockford and find an asian grocery so we can get more nori. Oh, today Sister West came up to me at church and said that her mother is coming to visit from Hong Kong and she said that when her mom is here she will invite me over for lunch!

Well I am going to pause here and finish this tomorrow. I�m at work and I want to read my book and knit. I�m making a pair of socks that I plan to give to Ruthann.

13 May 2002

Boobaby,

After I talked to you yesterday, I sent a note to my sisters, Sarah, Inger, and Diana, and also one to Kevin, to tell them I talked to you and he wrote back and told me about his weekend helping out at the Nauvoo temple. He is so darn cool! I�m enclosing a copy of his letter for you, and he says in it that he is writing to you. He�s a good boy.

I worked last night and it was long and boring. I finished the book I was reading, and one of the socks I was knitting, but I didn�t like the second book I brought, so I ended up playing solitaire for two hours until Nadine came in.

Scott is in the living room playing a video game, and he put a roast in the crockpot this morning so it smells great in there. He also went downstairs to put in a load of clothes. I hope he gets interested in getting a job, because I can�t believe he isn�t bored doing nothing. I want him to start painting the upstairs bathroom this week, so that will be a start.

Well things are so boring here that I haven�t got much too say, so I�ll just send this letter and Kevin�s. I�ll try to get out this week and have an adventure to make my letters more interesting.

Are you having any problems because of the economic problems in Argentina? Some of the missionaries in other areas are reporting food and money shortages!

Love you

1:34 p.m. - 2002-05-12
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter