monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fibrous fondlings

Today was the day of the Fiber Festival! I woke up at about 10 minutes to 2 in the afternoon and had to hurry over to the Festival because I was supposed to meet a friend there at 2. I know the woman taking tickets at the door, and she told me that Teresa had gone ahead and described what she was wearing so I could find her. I really appreciated that, as I am very bad at faces, and I have only met Teresa once before!

We wandered around, and admired the roving, but I don't buy roving because I don't spin. There is always tons of roving, (which is big clouds of unspun wool, FYI) because the Fiber Festival is put together by the Moonspinners spinning guild. There is yarn to be bought, though, and I did buy some. Not as much as I would have liked, owing to a cash flow problem. I had a credit card, and I would have used it, but most of the vendors are small sheep farms and don't take plastic!

I have been a regular at the Fiber Festival, though, so some of the vendors recognize me, and one of them was willing to take a check dated for a week from now, and I bought some wonderful sport weight natural brown wool, enough for a sweater.

Another of the vendors was a bigger one, who does accept Visa, so I got a copy of Vintage Knits, and I wanted some yarn that she had, too, but I got distracted and forgot about it until later, so I didn't buy the yarn. Darn it. Vintage Knits is a book of patterns based on actual patterns from the 40s and 50s, and I've been thinking of buying it for a while.

The other booth I bought from had mostly roving, in wonderful colors, but on one side they had a table with some sweaters made up, and one of them was a really cute baby sweater. The pattern was called Rambling Rows by Cottage Creations, so I bought the booklet for that. I like their patterns - they also wrote the Wonderful Wallaby pattern, and another one that I have made called Tunic for the Family. As I was writing a check for that book, a beautiful basket caught my eye! It was a thin, flexible woven basket that I've seen in some magazine recently and I've been wanting one, so you know I had to buy that, too. I just hope the cats aren't chewing on it as we speak, because it's the kind of basket they think is very tasty. I just thought of that, and I'm going to inspect it carefully in the morning, and some kitty butts will be kicked if there are any signs of chewing.

So that was the extent of my spending. I didn't see anything else that I couldn't live without, but Theresa and I met someone who told us about a yarn store in Rockford that we weren't aware of, so we'll be taking a field trip to check it out! That's two yarn stores that have opened in Rockford recently, where there haven't been any for years!

And now here I am back at work for a 12-hour shift. Ugh. I have something to read, and a sock to knit, but I'm really not happy about being here at all.

11:33 p.m. - 2003-04-26
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter