monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

This is the song that never ends...

I went home this morning and went to bed and fell asleep at a normal time, what a relief!

Ruthann called and said she was going to take a present to Cynthia and see her new baby, and did I want to come too? A new baby! Of course I wanted to go with her, and I have a sweater that I knitted for her! Uh oh, I still haven't sewn the zipper into the sweater - oh well, no problem, I can just sew it in quick by hand before Ruthann gets here...ummm, no. The zipper is too long.

So we stopped at Joann Fabrics and bought another zipper, and went back to Ruthann's to sew it in with her machine. I hate sewing, and I was too tired so I could barely pin the zipper in place, and then the thread knotted up, and then I said I had had enough, I'll do it later, and Ruthann kindly offered to sew it for me, so I left it at her house. Cynthia wasn't home, anyway.

This is my last night of a 7 day stretch at work, and I have a book to read, Le Mariage by Diane Johnson, and I have the pink dog sweater to work on, so the time will pass quickly.

Kim is supposed to help out at the Special Olympics tomorrow, and she is kind of hoping it rains so she doesn't have to go. It's a YW and YM activity. Rich is driving kids there and then he has to come home and take the dog in for her summer haircut, and go back to pick up the kids in the afternoon -- unless we get the huge thunderstorms that are predicted for this area, then he'll be picking them up sooner!

I wanted to see what the new Sock-of-the-Month yarn looks like, so I cast on the new Opal yarn, which is a blue varigated color, that might be called Cool Ocean. I did my usual pattern of cast on 64 sts on a size 1 needle and don't even make ribbing, just start knitting around. It makes a cute rolled top and I like it. That pattern I was using? The one that has an inch of K1P1 ribbing and then the body is K4P1? I'm not so happy with it, so I doubt that I'll use it anymore. It just makes the sock a little tighter, and takes just a little more effort. I really like mindless stockinette knitting that I do while reading. At least for making socks at work.

SIPs (Socks in Progress)-

1. Cool Ocean Opal sock #1

2. Wheat Fortissima lace sock #2

3. Regia cotton sock #1

4. Dk Blue Kroy lace sock #2 - that's the one I ripped out!

5 Rust varigated Opal sock #1

11:57 p.m. - 2003-05-09
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter