monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Total Eclipse (of the Heart)

What did I do today? Hmmm...Well, I woke up at noon, which is at least an hour too early, and I couldn't go back to sleep. I never did go back to sleep, so I am at work and very tired!

I called Ruthann to see what she was doing and she said she had moved furniture, so I drove over to her house to look at the living room. Nothing remarkable, but it looks like a comfy place to knit and watch movies this summer.

We took her car and went out to the library and the grocery store, and I got a big pile of library books for the long work week ahead, starting with 12-hour shifts Saturday and Sunday, and I bought stuff to make California Rolls this weekend while Rich and Kim are in Michigan.

When we left the grocery store I looked at the clock on the dashboard and wondered aloud if we would pass Kim walking home. We stopped at the stop light by the Jr High school and there she was, on the corner! We were the third car back, but I yelled out the window and she ran and jumped in the back - sadly, on top of the bag containing the avocados - and we gave her a fudgesicle to eat.

Ruthann dropped us off at home and I put away the groceries and had just sat down to knit when she called to say that my car was still at her house! Oops!

So I called Rich and told him that I accidently left the car at Ruthann's. That sounded kind of funny.

I made dinner tonight, which I haven't done in well over a week. I just felt like having something hot, and Kim was willing to help, so we made Spanish Rice. Not that terrible stuff my mother used to make, which was pretty much just tomato juice and rice. We made Emily's Spanish Rice, a recipe that is from a Frugal Gourmet cookbook. I know he's a perv, but every recipe of his that I've ever made has been wonderful. I have leftover Spanish Rice in the fridge for later...

After dinner I went to bed, hoping to sleep for a couple of hours before work, but nope, didn't happen. I dozed a little, but not much and finally I gave up. I turned on the TV in my room and knitted and watched The Full Monty on TV. A couple of lines were cut, but not much. I love that movie!

When the movie ended I remembered the lunar eclipse! We went out to look at the moon, but couldn't see it well from our balcony, so we took a drive. We ended up at the observatory, where Kim and Rich went in to look through the telescopes and I stayed in the parking lot and called Diana and Ruthann to tell them to look at it. Then my cell phone started beeping at me and I had to plug it into the car charger.

I started a baby sweater today, one of two I need to make. I need a third sweater, but it's the one with the zipper and Ruthann was going to put that in for me. Gotta remind her about it. The one I'm knitting today is made of Dk Heather Green Woolease, because I had some in the yarn room. It's just a simple top-down cardigan that I can knit in one piece, so there's no sewing, yay! Except for the buttons, boo!

Other than that, I still have the same WIPs and SIPs that I listed a couple of days ago, so I won't bore you with those again.

12:07 a.m. - 2003-05-16
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter