monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Books and Chairs

Uh oh. The chairs in our office have changed again. The thing about the chairs is, everyone has a different chair that they like, that is the perfect chair that meets their individual needs, but no two people like the same chair. That is why in this office we have 5 chairs.

For a long time Barb was campaigning to get a big chair that had a head rest because according to her, the chiropractor told her that she needed a head rest because the weight of her head, always leaning forward, was misaligning her neck and giving her headaches. She mentioned it daily in conversation, and monthly in our department meetings, and I'm sure she brought it up whenever she had face time with our boss. (I think that's why he avoids making eye contact when he walks by our open door.)

Finally we were offered the chair from Steve's office, the big chair with a head rest that used to belong to our former director who jumped ship to be the pharmacy director - some say to avoid being in the path of blame when administration discovers how much money was wasted on a certain project.

I thought Steve's chair was great, but Barb had expected a new chair, not an old, weathered chair and she didn't like it. So it went back to Steve's office.

Then we got a new chair, a sleek black leather chair, but no, Barb didn't like that one because the headrest wasn't high enough, and the seat tilted forward slightly so she kept sliding forward. Apparently it wasn't padded enough or something because she also had a folded towel on the seat, a phenomenon that I don't understand, because she put a towel on one of the other 4 chairs, too, and recently put a second towel on that chair. I really don't like to sit on either of those chairs; the idea of sitting on someone else's ass towel creeps me out.

The black chair stayed, but then we got a small brown padded office chair and that one isn't right for Barb, either. I don't like that one myself because I don't like the back.

So tonight I came to work and the black chair is gone but there are two attractive green desk chairs with arms. I'm sitting in one now, and it seems okay, but the arms limit how far my thighs can spread, so that's a little confining...

While I was looking for something else on the internet tonight I found a list titled Five Good Books You Should Read and three of them are among my favorite books of all time! Obviously someone has good taste, and I'm going to look for the other two books immediately! Here is the list:

1. Bloodsucking Fiends: A Love Story

by Christopher Moore

2. The All-True Travels and Adventures of Lidie Newton by Jane Smiley

3. Bridget Jones's Diary by Helen Fielding

4. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

5. Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West by Gregory Maguire

Numbers 2 and 5 are the ones I haven't read, if you were wondering.

12:03 a.m. - 2003-05-21
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter