monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Isn't the baby precious?

Yesterday I went to bed when I got home in the morning and the neighbor woke me up at 10:30 with his weed-whacker right under my window. The bastard.

So I couldn't go back to sleep and I wandered around the house in a tired way for a while, but I didn't want to just feel tired all day on a day off, so I got dressed and Kim and I went for a walk.

(Rich was at home, cutting down a half-dead tree in our yard.)

We walked as far as the hospital, about 1/2 mile, and I got the bright idea of going in to visit my friend Candace, who just had a baby and has had complications from an epidural she received while she was in labor (ewwww).

We went up to her room and admired the baby, who was in the room with her, and then Kim started feeling sick and faint (!), so I called Rich to pick us up and we went back home.

Candace's husband had been talking about going to visit his parents for the weekend - they have their other son at their house - so I told her I would come back and stay with her and knit.

I packed a bag at home, with knitting and diet Pepsi (hey, I was tired!) and a couple of books and some extra needles because Candace wanted to learn to knit. When I got back to the hospital, her husband was still hanging around so I guess he decided not to go to his parents, but he was bored so he went to shop and rent movies.

Before he left, he told us about one of his missionary companions who could knit and play the piano, both of which he could do really well, and how he was a very fast knitter and could just crank stuff out. The companion had made a sweater and a pair of slippers for Chris, and he still has the slippers.

Well, Candace tried to knit, but she couldn't quite grasp it, what with lying on her back in bed, having a baby just a few days ago, and having a blood clot in her brain and all, so we'll work on it later when she's feeling better.

I had called Ruthann to let her know about Candace so she came up to the hospital too, and she brought a Walkman and some books on tape, which was very thoughtful of her, but she knows how boring it is in the hospital. It was fun for us to be there, because we got to hold the baby and give him a bottle!

I have never given a bottle to a baby that young, so I had an irrational thought that he wouldn't be able to drink from it, but he could. Who knew? Candace can't nurse him because she is taking so much medication for her various problems, mostly pain killers up to now, (vicodan and morphine!) and now the Coumadin that she has to take for 6 months.

I came home to make dinner and we had chicken curry on rice, using a curry mix that I got at the Asian grocery a couple of weeks ago. It was pretty good.

I was tired and went to sleep before 8 last night, but woke up about 11:30 to the sound of the dog farting, and the thick fog of dogstink whirling through the room. I jumped up and yelled at the dog that I hated sleeping at home at night because of his horrible farts, and then I went downstairs to find the can of airspray (we call it dogspray)that works so well to neutralize the stench.

When I woke up again this morning, Rich wasn't in bed, and I went looking for him. He was sleeping in a nest of cushions and blankets on the living room floor, and he said after I woke up and yelled about the stink he thought I would sleep better if he brought the dog downstairs. Awww.

6:32 a.m. - 2003-05-25
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter