monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sweating to the ...oh never mind.

Yesterday I bought a bagful of Woolease at the Ben Franklin store when I was in the mall to have my hair colored. I bought it with Lacy Woolease Socks in mind, and I made almost an entire sock before I realized that I had the pattern wrong and ripped it out. It looked okay, it was just sort of a lacy ribbed look, but it was bugging me that I didn't have it RIGHT. So I ripped it out and I'll start again later.

Today when I was out with Ruthann I bought 3 balls of Woolease in a color called Wood - soft browns and a bit of dark sage green, and I'm starting a baby sweater with it. I was going to make a Wallaby, but I looked all over my house and couldn't find the damn pattern, and finally gave up. I'm using a top down raglan pattern from Mary Rich Goodwin's second book. It's got a ribbed collar and two front pockets, like a sweatshirt.

Last night was Kim's 8th grade promotion - ugh. It was boring and hot in the gym, but I knitted two catnip mice while I sat there. I was next to someone's grandma (not Someone's Grandmother) and she told me that she used to crochet catnip mice and gave me a good tip on using pantyhose for liners to keep the catnip from leaking out. She thought my mice were very amusing because they had a cable stitch, but I told her that is what makes them fun to knit.

Kim looked adorable and I made a great hair bun that stayed in beautifully. She got a Presidents Education Award for her grades, but it's no big deal - well, it kinda is - because 60 kids got them. There were 343 kids in the 8th grade class, who are now the Freeport High School class of 2007. My baby!

Today Rich and Kim went to the school to pick up the concert harp that we are borrowing from school for the summer. It's so cool! It's taller than me, and Rich can't keep his hands off of it because it is so cool. Every time he passes by it, he has to stop and play it. Not that he can play anything, the doofus.

So this weekend I have to work 12 hours tonight and tomorrow. Billy No-mates was here for the last 3 hours, complaining about his constant diarhea. Does he think that is conversation? Because I have a news flash for him! His real purpose in being here was to monitor what's going on in the server room. The a/c isn't working and it's too hot in there - computers generate lots of heat, but they have to be kept cool. So the maintenance guys brought in big fans to move the air around and turned the heat down in our area, so I'm freezing, thank you. He finally left!

I'm tired, and I'm very unhappy about being at work, but I brought three books so I have a choice, and I have the baby sweater to work on. It's a long night, though.

10:55 p.m. - 2003-05-31
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter