monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It was a long day.

I'm at work, I'm hot and I can't take this sweater off because I'm wearing an old ugly t-shirt under it, so I hope it cools off in here later.

I went to the dentist today and it was a little embarrassing because I don't floss like I used to. Darn, I used to have impressive oral hygiene. I have a cracked tooth that needs to be fixed by a very expensive onlay, and the stupid gold crown, that was a big mistake in the first place, is coming off, and has to be replaced. They aren't charging me for that one, though, because it's their work.

I saw a different dentist there and I like him much better than the last one. I hope he'll be around for a while.

Kim was having her teeth cleaned at the same time, and she had no cavities, but they asked if we have been seeing the orthodontist because she obviously needs work. I asked the hygienist for her opinion on the plastic surgery the orthodontist recommended and she seemed to think it wouldn't be a bad idea but Kim started freaking out (slightly) and I told her we would talk about it later. I got a referral so that I can get a second opinion from another orthodontist, too. When we got home I called our orthodontist and made an appointment for a check with him, and we'll see what happens next, because if we're going to have surgery, should we start braces? Do they work together? I just don't know!

Back at home I talked to Billy N-M and he wants to go to Six Flags on Monday because it's Gay Day (?) so I told him to get tickets for me and Kim, too. I arranged to have Leslie work for me, and I guess we'll have something interesting to write about in our journals next week.

Karin was coming over to pick up a ball of yarn so she can finish her sweater (and she's doing a beautiful job!), so I went upstairs to get another ball of that color and to find a pattern I wanted to loan her, and ended up putting away stuff in the yarn room. So it's ready now for company to sleep there this weekend, it just needs clean sheets and some sweeping.

Karin kept me company when I went to Joann Fabrics to buy another ball of the yarn I needed to finish the sweater I'm making, and I bought a little more yarn while I was there, because I can't help myself. Later at home I found one more ball of the yarn I thought I was out of for the sweater I'm making - apparently I bought enough on the first shopping trip. Who knew? So now I have an extra ball.

She is about to have a learning experience with the sweater she is making because I didn't have a whole ball of the yarn she needed, only a small remnant from something I made, so she is going to do some creative yarn management by knitting the cuffs in another color. It will look good, though, and hey, it's a design element!

Then I went to upstairs to take a nap before work and I had a dreadful dream in which Rachel was released from her mission two weeks early and came home, bringing a young man with her. She was spending all her time with him, wearing very beautiful clothes, including a navy blue evening dress with gold beading, and I kept changing my clothes in the dream, and I was wearing some nice stuff, too, except for some yellow shoes (!), but I was feeling upset that Rachel was spending all her time going places with the young man! Finally she told me his name was Griffin, and he was trying to be pleasant, but I was still upset that she wasn't spending enough time with us and apparently was going to marry him. In my dream, Kim appeared to be about 4-6 yrs old, and I had to take her to a playdate with a friend we haven't seen in years. I was feeling a little down about the whole thing when I woke up, but I do like the name Griffin.

11:38 p.m. - 2003-06-03
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter