monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Eff-ing bastardized son of a toaster!

So last night I had one of the worst nights I've ever had at work and it was all because of the very wicked printer.

When I got to work there were signs on two of the printers saying Do Not Use, and a message in my email telling me that both of them are broken and to use the third printer. No problem, except that I haven't used that printer in months and I was afraid I wouldn't remember how to load the paper.

I did remember and I ran my reports, except that the paper kept jamming up and ripping itself apart and generally messing itself up in every way! I kept reloading, salvaging what I could from the mess and then printing more, or in one case, trashing it all and running the report again. It was crazy, I had to keep running out to the other room, trying to pull the paper out of the jam, and then pulling it through evenly to prevent more jamming, but it didn't work and at one point I was pulling the paper as it came out and feeding it back over my head into a pile on the floor! I was working up quite a sweat, and that always makes me cranky, and I made up some new cursing, too. (And it's not helpful to say, as Rich did, Nobody uses that kind of printer anymore, because apparently WE do!)

Then at 4:30, all the lights went out and there was much wailing and gnashing of teeth in the darkness, and it set off the Code Red (fire alarm) panel in my office and oh, the noise! The noise! A transformer in town caught fire, and we have generators, but still, the least important areas of the hospital are only lighted minimally to save power, and people get upset.

The situation only lasted for 10 or 15 minutes, but then it affects the computers, and I had to call someone to check out everything. I wanted to talk to her anyway, to let her know about the printer problems, and she was upset about that, too, and seemed to think I should have known how to fix it. Oh? Do I look like a mechanic?

So later today Billy No-mates had to tell me all about the major complaining he had to listen to this morning about how I didn't know what to do and she has offered to train us (the 3rd shift operators), but we never come in for more training...Excuse me? She showed me how to load the paper, and I can do that standing on my head, in fact I did it about 50 times last night in the course of trying to print reports that kept jamming up, so I really resent her saying that I haven't come in for training. Should I jam a butter knife in the printer and then call for help at 3 a.m. so that I can get more training in how to troubleshoot?

I took Kim for company again and went back to Curves today. I tell you what, people are just a little too perky there. One woman came in who was there for her weighing and measuring day, and she was just high as a kite because she lost 1/2 an inch, and then there is another woman who has been there every time I have gone in, and I've heard her lecture on the evils of Diet Pepsi twice now (to other people) because you're a captive audience while going around the circuit. Ugh.

Oh, and get this -- when I got to work tonight, I found an email about a woman that I know who worked in the admitting department who died yesterday from a brain aneurysm!! She was 44 and little and skinny and taught yoga classes, so it just goes to show you, if it's not one thing it's another, you can be skinny and teach yoga and die suddenly just like that, or you can sit at home on your ass and drink Diet Pepsi and knit and live to be a crabby old woman chasing kids off the lawn.

11:20 p.m. - 2003-06-12
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter