monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

How to be productive at work.

Apparently there were a couple of tornados sighted in this area today, but we were completely unaware of them. Rich and I were shopping in the early evening and when we left the store he commented on the dark sky to the south of us and wondered if storms were heading our way, and when I got to work at 7, Leslie said that's the area that had the tornadoes. Well, darn it, I miss everything.

So here I am back at work, but I have some snacks, thanks to my grocery shopping expedition, and I have something to read, so I'm happy.

I'm reading a book by Mary Roberts Rinehart, a very prolific writer who was writing during the early 1900s and into the 30s, maybe as late as the 40s. She wrote a lot of mysteries; in fact she is known for introducing a style of mysteries called the Had I But Known school, where the narrator describes the action and comments on how, in hindsight, she should have acted differently. She wrote other things, not just mysteries, and lots of what she wrote is humorous, so I love reading her work. Tonight I'm re-reading a book called The Man in Lower Ten, that is reproduced on the Project Gutenberg website, so I can read it on the internet. There are several of her books there, including The Circular Staircase, probably her most famous.

I brought two knitting projects to work on, the second Silja Autumn sock (finished the first one yesterday), and the Opal Rust Varigated sock. I am using the very cute cat-print zippered bag that Diana sent me to carry my purse knitting, although the biggest size is a little big for my purse. Still, it could not be cuter, so I'm using it. My other project is just in a used Ziploc bag inside my library tote bag. Not very glamorous. I'll stash it in something nicer tomorrow.

Since I've been at work for 4 hours already, I've typed two letters from Rachel that I'll post to the website tomorrow, and I wrote my missionary (and old lady) letters for Monday. I didn't write a letter last week - except to Scott, but this week's letter is a good one, so I hope no one will notice that there wasn't one last week. Hey, none of them write to me, so if they don't get a letter one week, they can hardly complain.

Uh, I just got a prank call! It was a kid's voice, and sounded like a boy of around 10, and he was pretending he was trying to call someone but he couldn't remember their name, but then he called me a nigger and hung up - oh and he called on our 800 number! Obviously someone was left unsupervised tonight. Well at least he didn't call me fat, that would have really hurt my feelings.

11:34 p.m. - 2003-06-14
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter