monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Driving and driving as fast as he can.

I know I haven't written anything for your entertainment all week and I'm sorry but I've been busy, and anyway, when I'm not at work, I don't usually think of doing my journal. When I'm working, it's part of my nightly routine - read the knitblogs, write my journal, play spider solitaire, do a few reports... You know, my busy work night.

So it's my week of vacation and it's almost over! Where did my week go? Well, it seems like I've spent most of it in the car!

Monday was a normal day - I slept all day and in the afternoon I went to Curves (the only time I made it there this week!) and then talked Rich into going to the library with me because I wanted some books so I would have something to read to entertain myself until Wednesday! Rich and I had a disagreement about where to park at the library - he wanted to park a block away for some reason, but he drove closer when I insisted and then he drove over the curb with one tire when he pulled into a parking space in front of the library and bitched because he hates to parellel park. I called him a baby because I am sensitive like that and told him that Ruthann can parellel park in a space smaller than her car. (She used to live in Chicago.)Then I got some books, so I was happy.

Tuesday I kept running around town on the slightest pretext because I didn't want to be home getting anxious about Rachel coming home on Wednesday. I didn't clean house, because I didn't want to do anything that would get me thinking about how many hours it was until she arrived, which is why she doesn't have clean sheets on her bed. Rich dropped Patsy off at the vet to have the mats shaved off first thing in the morning, so after I did errands with Ruthann all morning I got home and Kim said the vet had called and we could pick Patsy up, so we went out to do that. As soon as we dropped off Patsy at the house (yes, he looks pretty funny, but the shaved part feels velvety and we can't keep our hands off of him) we went back to pick up Ruthann, stopping at Burger King to pick up a quick lunch that we ate in the car, and the three of us went to see Finding Nemo. It was okay, but not the masterpiece I was led to expect by some reviews.

When we got home I made taco salad, just to kill some more time, and I got back in the car to take half of it over to Ruthann's house. After that I read for a while and knitted, and took a sleeping pill to go to sleep early - we had to get up early in the morning!

Wednesday was the day! We drove to the airport and there was no place to park! What's with that? We have never had trouble finding a parking space before, and finally Rich let Kim and me out to go to the terminal because it was getting late. We got lost as soon as we got out of the car, of course, and Rich found a spot as soon as we walked away, so we all ended up in the baggage claim area at the same time and in just a few minutes Rachel arrived!

Oh my goodness, we were so happy to see her! She could barely speak English and was feeling pretty wierded out by the whole experience, but once we got in the car she pulled some alfajores (Argentinian version of Moon Pies) out of her bag and ate one and that grounded her. We went home and she laughed so hard when she saw Patsy that she had to sit down on the floor!

We unpacked and started washing her clothes, which reeked of mildew from her smelly suitcases that had gotten wet at some point in the mission, and she says that is what Argentina smells like - huh, bet they don't mention that in the travel brochures - and then we had to drive back to Rockford to see the stake president to get her released. So that was another long day in the car.

I didn't realize that it's hard for missionaries to come home and be released. I thought it would be thrilling and a relief for her to be home at last and be done with her mission, but she was very sad about it and she said she heard from other missionaries that it would be hard but she didn't expect it to be until it happened.

So yesterday we went to the DMV and got a replacement for her lost driver's license and then we came home and watched movies and knitted. It was so nice! We're going to do more of the same today, but first we're going to Curves because I haven't gone since Monday. Karin is coming over to watch The Fellowship of the Ring with us this afternoon, and she's bringing her knitting, of course.

And tomorrow is the release of the new Harry Potter book! We ordered two copies from Amazon but we'll probably run to Walmart in the morning to pick up a copy there, too, like we did last time. Kim is Youth Conference and she is concerned that there won't be a free copy for her if we get the two Amazon books and start reading them before she gets home tomorrow. So if we have three, everyone will be happy.

5:53 a.m. - 2003-06-20
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter