monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's raining outside, there's no where to hide

When you wake up to a loud BOOM on the wall next to your bed, your day can only get better from that point, can't it? A painter apparently dropped the ladder against the side of the house, and I woke up with a scream!

The painters were back today to finish painting the trim on the house, and one of them was cute and friendly, but it was a cold day and he did not take his shirt off. Even when I gave them doughnuts.

So we just putzed around the house all day, and didn't do anything much. Rachel napped on the couch, because she had to get up early to walk the neighbor's dog. Kim had taken the job of walking Sherman while the neighbors were gone, but she went to camp and left us in charge. Thanks Kim! Rachel and Sherm aren't getting along - she thinks he is too much inclined to want to do the walk his way, which includes looking for just the right weeds to eat and rolling in random patches of grass, while she wants him to just do his business and go home. She calls him El Caprichoso, which means something unflattering in Spanish.

So Rachel napped on the couch in the morning and I went out with Ruthann to get a few groceries - oops, forgot to buy any Diet Pepsi, though.

When I came home I knitted on the couch while she worked on her laptop. We were going to watch another one of our movie rentals, but then it was time to walk Sherman again, so I went with her for company.

We took him around the block and when Rachel started hurrying him I reminded her that he needed some time to enjoy his walk and get some air, because his family is gone and he's stuck in the house. She said something bitter about letting him frolic, and we walked slowly with him stopping to smell things and roll in them, but then it started to rain a little and when I encouraged him to move more briskly, Rachel told me to let him enjoy his walk and get some air. Oh yeah, that was pleasant, and the rain got heavier so that we were all pretty wet when we got back to his house. When we left, we told him to go in and lay on the couch to dry off.

I had to go for a haircut after that, and when I got home it was pouring rain and Kim called from the church for me to pick her up - she's home from camp! She was tired and her face was all broken out from not being able to clean it properly while she was there. The kids always come home with acne from living in dirt.

I was tired of working on socks this week, so I started a hat with cables and it's really just a big swatch for a sweater I want to make. It's a cabled sweater that I've made before; Scott has the first one I made. Rachel had made the body of the sweater before her mission, when it was meant for her boyfriend, and now she is finishing the sleeves for it, and she's excited to be making *herself* a sweater. I'm going to make the sweater and try to sell it in the craft show this fall, and if it doesn't sell, I'll give it to Rich. And force him to wear it.

FOs:

1. Opal Rust socks

2. Regia cotton Confetti socks

3. Bright baby sweater for Kelly.

WIPs:

1. Cable hat

2. Opal Black Cherry sock #1

3. Opal pastel Fair Isle sock #2

4. Gryffindor scarf, first red stripe done, on first yellow stripe.

5. Wheat baby sweater, body done, on 1st sleeve.

Planned:

1. Aquarius (cable) sweater

2. Wallaby baby sweaters for craft show

Reading:

Just finished Death of a Hussy by M.C. Beaton. I love Hamish MacBeth!

Watching:

Gosford Park last night. We're catching up on movies Rachel missed while on her mission. We have two more in the rental pile; Analyze That (I haven't seen it either) and Drive Me Crazy.

I ordered the Special Edition DVD of Pride and Prejudice, since I still haven't found the one I had, and this one has a special feature, The Making of Pride and Prejudice. Rachel was reading the box and saw it mentioned the scene selection feature, and remarked that she hoped one of the scenes would be the one with Colin Firth in a wet shirt. Oh yeah.

I almost forgot - we took Patsy to the vet yesterday because his cold wasn't better. The vet looked at his runny eye and listened to his chest and then looked in his mouth and said he has a sore throat! Poor Patsy! He also had the idignity of having his temperature taken, and then got a shot of antibiotic. The cat was very miserable. We have salve to put in his runny eye twice a day, and he doesn't like that, and we have to give him and dropperful of antibiotic once a day. He drooled it all over Rachel's lap today, so I hope we can find a more efficient method of administering it tomorrow!

1:05 a.m. - 2003-07-12
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter