monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

SW RM looking for same.

I'm exhausted! I did try to get a nap before work tonight but my so-sociable neighbors had company out on the patio again and the kids were noisy, so mostly I just drifted in and out of a light doze for an hour and then got up.

Oh well, I'll sleep good when I get home in the morning.

I got up in time to go with Rachel and Kim to the park for Kim's cross-country practice this morning. Apparently Rachel takes Kim to join the team at their meeting place, and then Rachel goes for a walk around the park. It's a big park, people! So I went with them today since I was awake, and I walked around the park with Rachel. I saw the entire park, and I mean the river, the waterfall, the bandshell, the duck pond, the tennis courts, the caves, EVERYTHING!

I was glad to get back home and get a Diet Pepsi when that was over. Then while Kim was at her algebra prep class - did I mention that she is taking a class? Well, she is. It's for two weeks, and it's for freshmen who will be taking Advanced Algebra, just to give them a little boost.

So while she was at said class, Rachel reminded me that there was some loose talk yesterday about going to the mall to buy school clothes. Groan. So we dragged out to the mall in Rockford when Kim got out of class and we walked all over the damn mall, carrying heavy bags. I was glad to get back in the car when that was over! Both of the girls have clothes now, so I hope they're happy. Rachel acted all grateful and promised to fold the laundry, but there were two baskets of laundry in the living room, resting comfortably and completely unfolded when I came to work tonight.

So I guess signing Rachel up for the LDS dating service was a bad idea. Everyone she's met so far has been a little...odd. Tonight I was reading a profile out loud to her because she won't even look at them anymore, and OMG he was so cute, but she just said he was going to be a loser like all the rest of them, and it was just a matter of talking to them once or twice before their essential oddity emerged. She said they were like Hamlet, they all have a tragic flaw. It's true that you have to wonder why a very cute 26 yr old with a good job has to join a dating service to meet Mormon girls to date when he lives in Orem, Utah! The most fun we have with the website is looking at the things they write about themselves and decoding what they mean - "I enjoy scrapbooking with my mom" means he'll be coming out of the closet any day now. "My perfect day would start with waking up to the smell of bacon cooking," means his mom waits on him hand and foot and he'll expect the same from his future wife. "I am looking for a girl who can have an interesting conversation on a variety of topics," means that he's looking for someone who can carry on all the conversation because he can't manage to do more than grunt. Oh well, it entertained me for a few days, and that's really what it's all about.

What I'm knitting today - I'm making a really bright and colorful sock with some Opal Brasil yarn from the Sock-of-the-month club. It's so pretty!

11:17 p.m. - 2003-08-12
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter