monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And all that jazz

Yes, dahlings, I know I haven't written in DAYS, but I've been busy getting Rachel packed and on her way back to school.

It's been hotter than, well, I was going to use a hideous cursing expression, but I think I will just say it was hot hot hot, and extremely humid, and of course we had to spend time packing and sorting in Rachel's room on the third floor! Heat rises, you know! So we have been shvitzing like pigs whilst working like dogs! Now that's a pretty image isn't it?

So she finally left today, and was mighty glad to get back to school and into her apartment. She likes her roommates already, she says the two that she's met remind her of Karin. So that's a good thing!

This week was the week of the county fair and Monday Rachel, Kim and I went out to the fairgrounds to look at sheep and eat fair food! We also look at chickens and rabbits, but we do not look at horses or cows because they are too stinky. There were emus, too.

So we wandered around, eating cream puffs, elephant ears, cheese curds and that good lemonade that is shaken in a cup that you can only get at the fair! The girls bought marshmallow guns, too, and the cats are enjoying the marshmallows.

We went into a barn full of 4-H-type entries and looked for some of the many items that PBJ told us his sister had entered into competition, and we saw a couple of them. By the way, I do not get how anyone judges the best zucchini or tomatoes or green beans. Really, that is just ridiculous.

While we were in the barn, we met up with PBJ's mom, Susan, who was with her sister, and a couple of her younger kids (I think she has 6 altogether). I acted excited about her daughter's entries, and then I said how much we have been enjoying PBJ the last few days, and all this time she is just smiling and staring at me, and it was making me babble! So I just kept babbling insanely about how nice he is, and we never got to know him before, but he is so pleasant, and Rachel wasn't sure she could trust him at first...

And I became aware that Rachel was behind me, reeling in shock and horror (on the inside, because on the outside she was smiling calmly) and I realized I had said something stupid, so I babbled some excuse and got the hell out of there, followed by Rachel who was wanting to KILL me!

You see, she DID say that at first she felt like she couldn't trust him, but it was because she was just getting to know him and he was turning out to be completely different from the person she didn't like much when they were younger, and she wasn't sure it was the real him. Not like she thought he was going to steal her wallet, she just thought he was going to revert to his real, former, kind of an asshole, self.

So I was apologizing like crazy and feeling like a bigmouthed rat for embarrassing her, and she was scolding me and calling me a monkey, an orangutan, and a babbling chimp, and Kim was just following us around, taking it all in, and trying to help make me feel better because she is a good girl.

By the time we got home Rachel had calmed down, and she said it was okay, she HAD said that she didn't trust him, and I told her not to worry about it, because probably his mother wouldn't even mention it to him - not every family is like ours, where we dissect everything and if one person knows something, everyone knows it. (Gabe always hated that!)

Well on Tuesday, Kim's friend Hannah T. (not Hannah Hoochie, the other, NICE Hannah) called to see if Kim could go to the fair with her family and then sleep over at Hannah's. I met Hannah's mother for the first time when they came to pick up Kim, and I had been a little nervous about letting her stay at a house where I didn't know the family at all, but Hannah's mother had written their address and phone number on a piece of paper for me, and included her cell phone number and Hannah gave it to me when she came in and I was about to ask her for her phone number, so that is why Hannah's mother is my new best friend!

Hannah T. has 2 dogs, a rabbit, some guinea pigs, a bearded dragon lizard (hideous!) and is breeding betta fish in a tanks in her bedroom, so Kim had a great time at her house and wants to raise some fish. The two of them spent 10 dollars at the fair playing some stupid game so they could win a pair of goldfish in a plastic bag, and both of them (uh, the FISH, I mean) were dead by the next day, but Kim kept the bowl and stuff and plans to buy a Betta fish at the pet store tomorrow.

On Wednesday Kim had X-country practice in the afternoon, so Rachel and I drove out to pick her up at Hannah's and as we were dropping her off at the school she said, "Don't worry Rachel, I talked to PBJ for you last night at the fair," WHAT???? "I told him that you do trust him," and then she hopped out of the car and we just sat there, horrified, with our mouths hanging open!

We both started laughing, me, because I was truly amused at the whole situation, and Rachel because she was so embarrassed that she was practically hysterical. We had to go grocery shopping and she was giggling in a hysterical manner all through the store, but she decided to just call him and see what she could do in the way of damage control.

So we sat in the car in the high school parking lot and waited for Kim, and while we waited, Rachel called PBJ, and guess what? He was actually pretty oblivious and didn't seem to think anything wierd was going on at all. He's such a GUY, and doesn't seem to be any kind of game playing nut like the rest of Rachel's friends, no wonder she didn't think she could trust him! She's never seen anything like him!

Rachel asked him if he wanted to get together on Thursday to go to a movie before she went back to school, and he said sure, so they emailed each other back and forth between his classes on Thursday and he came over in the evening. We ate the dinner that I COOKED, thank you, and then PBJ suggested that they should go and buy some movies and maybe some ice cream and watch movies at our house, so that's what they did.

We watched Chicago and it was really great! I have loved the songs from it since the 70s; in fact I bought the book of piano music way back then and I still have it. I had no idea what it was about, but I loved it!

They didn't watch all of Blast From the Past on Sunday, and it was still in the VCR, so we watched the rest of that, too. It was a nice evening, and I like him a lot. There are no pheromones there, though, so don't get excited about a romance between Rachel and PBJ. I'm glad she has a friend to do things with when she comes home now!

This morning Kim went to her first day of high school, and Rachel started loading her car to go back to college. She was on the road by 11:30! She is driving Rich's Saturn because the car that Grandma and Grandpa gave her was just too big and fancy for her, so she swapped with Rich. We took the Saturn and had a CD player installed on Thursday afternoon and spent a very relaxing and COOL 1/2 hour watching Attack of the Clones in the dark movie room at the sound system store. I didn't want to leave - the couch was comfortable, I had my knitting, there was air conditioning - I could have stayed all afternoon!

After Rachel left, I called Ruthann and we decided to go yarn shopping since it's my birthday tomorrow, so we took a drive to Rockford to The Yarn Seller! Of course we had to drive around forever to find it because we didn't bring the address or directions to the store, but we found it and bought some lovely sock yarns. Then I got a little crazy and, well, I bought a pattern for another Dale ski sweater, Norge 2002, and the yarn to make it, and then it just went to my head and I said I thought I could finish it by Sept 13, for Rachel's birthday! What was I thinking? That's 23 days away! I told the shop owner I would send her an email if I finished it in time.

Whew! I think I've caught up on all the events of the week now.

11:43 p.m. - 2003-08-22
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter