monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Shithouse mouse!

So I'm working on the 23-day sweater and I'm almost done with the first sleeve. In fact, I would be completely done with it by now, but there is a certain unlucky two inches that I ripped out twice and reknit, so it slowed me down.

I was going to be clever with the pattern, you see, and that was a mistake. There is a portion of the colorwork on the sleeve that is supposed to be embroidered on when the sleeve is done, but I thought I could just knit it in as I worked on the rest of the sleeve and not have to do the embroidery. Ugh, that was a big ugly mess, and I will be doing the embroidery later. I am way past that part now, though, and it looks good.

Sarah and Chris came to visit tonight! They were in Chicago so Sport Billy Chris could compete in a triathlon, and Chris has to do some business in Wisconsin tomorrow, so they stopped at our house for a few hours and we played Mexican Train with the cool 'dogs' Diana sent me. As I was getting out the dominoes, Sarah told Chris that we use bad language when we play the game, and I said that Sarah called me a whore last time we played, right in front of Grandma! Chris said he would ask if she was shocked, but he knows our Grandma, and in an old lady voice, I yelled, "Shithouse mouse!" which is what Grandma always says, and Sarah told him Grandma is the one who taught us to swear. After the game, Chris took a nap while we knitted. Sarah is making squares for a baby blanket and they are beautiful!

Yesterday was my birthday and I got some very funny cards, but the one that Sarah brought was the funniest. It has a cranky-looking old lady on the front and she is saying "Driving by with your bass thumping...I'll thump your bass, you little bastard!" She's wearing a good-looking sweater, too, so you know it's me when I get old. I bought myself some yarn and thanked Rich for the nice gift, since I always buy my own present, but when I woke up Saturday morning, I found that Rich and Kim had actually bought a card for me, and also a copy of the Weekly World News because they know I love to read the headlines! (P.S. I saw Chris reading it!)

Kim actually went to bed early tonight so she would be ready to get up for her first day of early morning seminary tomorrow!

11:23 p.m. - 2003-08-24
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter