monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm still sleepy.

I took a sleeping pill this morning and slept HARD all day until Ruthann came over at 2:30, bearing lunch from Alvarez! I was grateful and all, but after lunch I was feeling pretty groggy. I stayed awake for a couple of hours and did two or three rows on the BS sweater, but I was so sleepy that I finally went back to bed.

When I woke up again it was 7 and Rich was gone to TaeKwonDo. Kim was doing her homework on the couch in the living room and listening to her CD walkman instead of watching TV like she usually does. She gave me an annoyed look when I suggested that we watch TV, so I tried just sitting and knitting on the BS, but it wasn't much fun without any entertainment.

So the phone rang and it was someone speaking Spanish, of which I speak nada at all! So that was horrible, with him trying to ask for Hermana Duede, and finally I figured that part out, but I sure didn't know how to tell him that she lives at school now, or ask for his phone number, because I can say telephono, but apparently nombre means NAME, and he told me his name a couple of times, and you know, even if he had tried to give me his number, I wouldn't have understood it because I don't speak any Spanish! The name I thought I was hearing wasn't right, either, and Rachel thinks she knows who it was, so she is going to try to call them.

So that was stressful and it made me feel stupid. I hate that, so I'm going to see about taking a Spanish class.

I've been reading books on Project Gutenberg when I'm at work - it's a website that has thousands of books you can read online. Not bestsellers, though, mostly books that are old and out of copyright. Which is fine, because there are lots and I read them at work while I knit.

I don't remember why I started reading The Europeans by Henry James - wait, I think it was mentioned in another book I was reading and it sounded interesting. When I finished that one, and it was pretty good, I started reading Turn of the Screw because it's supposed to be both scary and a classic. I kind of remember reading it when I was about 11, but I didn't remember anything about it. It was good, and not so terrifying that I couldn't read it, but it was quite creepy at the end. Apparently Henry James was a prolific writer - who knew? There are a lot of his books listed on the website, so I'm going to read another one tonight. I think I'll read Daisy Miller. It was made into a movie in oh, the 70s? With Cybill Shepherd, maybe? I don't think I've seen it.

11:37 p.m. - 2003-09-09
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter