monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Glad to be home.

So we went to Edwardsville for Rachel's birthday, leaving Saturday morning and getting back tonight, so we were gone about 36 hours altogether.

It was pretty pleasant. We took a bagful of stuff that she needed from home, and instead of the unfinished BS sweater, I took a sweater that I knitted about a year (or more) ago that just needed to be sewn up. I sewed it together Friday night. It's a Natural colored cotton sweater with a big cable design down the middle of the front and back, and it has a v-neck.

I took a few half-done small projects with me to work on in the car, and finished all of them and then started a new one. One of them was a baby sweater and I left that one with Rachel to give to a friend who has a new baby. I finished a hat and a pair of socks for the craft show, and started another beret.

While we were there we visited Rachel's apartment and Rich set up her printer, the one we brought with us, and we took Rachel and one of her roommates to Fritz's in St. Louis for a birthday dinner. It was a fun place, and if I hadn't been tired and cranky it would have been more fun for everyone.

Later we went to Walmart for - I don't know why, entertainment I guess. I was asleep when they decided to go there and I woke up and dragged my crabby, tired self out with them. We found a shirt and a new bra for Rachel and then I bought her some styling wax and fixed the front of her hair with it in the magazine aisle while we looked at hair mags and an asian man watched us in a bemused way. Kim and Rich looked at video games and then when we met up with them she had to take us back to show us the video games again (Sims expansion packs!). We didn't buy any for her - she doesn't have time to play them!

We went out to brunch and then to church with Rachel today and left to drive home afterward. I slept on the way back, so the time passed quickly. Rich is listening to HP5 on tape while he drives. If we take another trip of about that length he'll finally hear the end of it!

So we got home and the house smelled stale and damp from the rain that came down the whole time we were gone! That wasn't so great to come home to. The rugs were all nasty, too, like maybe the cats had a party while we were gone, but I didn't vacuum. I just sat on the bed with Rich, who was watching Planet of the Apes, with a commentary. Apparently it was a political movie - who knew?

While we watched TV, I took two half-done sweaters from the yarn room and ripped them out. I rolled the yarn into balls and put them back in a box to use for something else. They were both sweaters I started for myself, and I didn't think I would actually wear either of them. So I'll make something else with that yarn, someday. I don't mind ripping out something I'll never finish; those unfinished objects (UFOs) just nag at me, and ripping them out frees me from the burden of knowing I have stuff that I *should* finish!

Both of those sweaters had needles in them, so there's another benefit of ripping them out, it frees up some needles!

All three of the needles that I freed up today were size 5 circular Addi Turbos. That is the size I use the most, and I must have 10 pair of them in different lengths. The next most often-used size is 3, and lately I have needed some 4s, to work on the Dale sweaters. I could use another, longer size 4 circular, but when I went to Verna's she didn't have any in that size, not even in another brand. I have a couple, so it's not like I NEED one desperately, but when you have multiple projects, you need multiple needles!

If I knit on anything bigger than a 6, my wrists get tired. I'm a loose knitter, so my gauge with a worsted weight yarn and size 5 needles is what a tighter knitter gets with the recommended size 8 needle. I like the look of the fabric at a gauge of 5 st per inch or more, too.

Seen on a t-shirt in Edwardsville today - "If idiots could fly, this place would be a freakin' airport!" I want one of those!

11:54 p.m. - 2003-09-14
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter