monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Naked in the Garden of Eden

I was thinking of something interesting to write about tonight, but now I don't remember what it was. Too bad.

What did I do today? I'm thinking... oh right. I picked up the box of books that Scott sent home from his mission. He sent them home because they aren't officially part of the Missionary Library, and they aren't supposed to read any other books. (I was planning to read the books in the Missionary Library myself, but so far I haven't.) Also he was tired of moving the books every time he gets transferred.

So here's what he sent home:

Japanese in 30 Days (he took that one with him)

Japanese Reading

Oxford Chinese Dictionary

Learn Arabic Script

Egyptian Heiroglyphs

Egyptian Indians (some sort of anthropological study)

He also sent Drawing on the Powers of Heaven and a two volume commentary on the Doctrine and Covenants.

He is a funny/interesting kid. I got a long letter from him last week but I haven't typed it up to post on the website yet. I will probably do that tonight.

Kim came home from school tired and sore from cross-country again. I bought her a lightweight fleece blanket last week from Walmart and she loves it - she lay on the couch under that warm blanket and watched cartoons, then took a shower and did her homework. She turned off the TV (!) at 8 so she could do her reading for seminary. She just realized that they are supposed to read the entire Old Testament this year! I was walking by and heard her giggle, and asked her what she was laughing at - because she was reading the OT and I wasn't aware that it was funny at all - and she said that Adam and Eve realized they were naked and hid themselves from the Lord, and he was walking around the garden, wondering where they were! Yeah, it IS kind of funny.

Rich shampooed the rug in the dining room, the rug that is perpetually damp and sticky-feeling around the perimeters, and I hope it helps. He's got a fan blowing in there tonight to dry it. The carpet in there makes me sick! Because the rug never feels dry, the big pedal harp made rusty marks on the floor where it stood all summer! Olga got the stains out when she cleaned last time, and I consider that it makes up for the half-hearted job she does in some other areas.

I sneezed so much today that my ribs will be sore tomorrow! It's Fall, when my allergies are really bad. I was so miserable tonight, and I can't take anything strong because it will make me sleepy, so I bought some Claritan when I went to the store with Ruthann tonight. I was sneezing while I stood in the checkout line, waiting for a price check on the sushi I was buying, and Ruthann tore open the Claritan box and gave me one which I immediately washed down with the Diet Pepsi I had just bought. We never did get a price on the sushi and there was a long line of people waiting behind me, so I told the cashier to just call it $3.50 and she rang it up so we could get out of there. I think it's about a dollar more, but they owed me for the inconvenience! This isn't the first time I've had to wait on a price check on sushi, could they please get that price into their system so they can scan the damn bar code?

12:22 a.m. - 2003-09-16
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter