monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I'm tired.

Knowing that I needed to be ready to go to Kim's X-country meet later, I wanted to go right to sleep when I got home this morning, so I took one Tylenol PM to make myself drowsy (two makes me too groggy when I wake up) and went to bed. Then the next-door neighbors started to scrape and paint and talk and play their radio right under my window, like they have been doing for the last three days! What is with that? They have a brick house and they are painting the TRIM and it's taking them forever!! Geez, our whole house was painted in 2 days!

So I grumpily took my pillow and went downstairs to sleep on the couch. Badly. At noon the phone rang, and it was the dog breeder from yesterday, who could not be nicer, friendlier, or more outgoing, but oh my goodness, he needs a ritalin milkshake! I told him we were paying tuition and so could not possibly afford to pay that much for a dog right now but would certainly be interested in hearing from him when he has another litter, and he told me about putting HIS kids through college, and what they are doing now, and he emailed some pictures of a very wonderful Old English Sheepdog puppy for me to look at anyway.

I stayed up after that and ate cold baked macaroni and cheese and watched Columbo with Rich until it was time to go to Kim's meet. We took a Lunchable (TM) for her to eat afterward, and drove out to a high school in Rockford. We got there before the kids did and sat in the car, talking to Rachel on the phone for a while.

When the kids got there, Kim showed me the boy that she thinks is cute (he seems to think she is cute, also - oh my goodness, I never thought Kim would get this old and start liking boys; I thought she would be the baby forever! I could cry!), and we met a couple of the other girls' parents.

One of the girls' mother told me that her daughter had a stress fracture last year from running, and she told me she had instructions from a doctor on which shoes to buy, and told me where to buy spikes. Spikes? What for? I am so blissfully ignorant about the whole sport of running. I so need to do some internet research on cross-country training and whatever else goes with it.

One of the other girls is also in orchestra with Kim, and her mother is in charge of getting people to sell concessions at the high school football games as an orchestra fund-raiser, so she and I talked about her problems with getting enough parents to come and work at the games, blah blah blah and then she filled me in on all of her daughter's musical gifts - violin, piano, voice. Yawn. In connection with something she said, I mentioned that Rachel has been serving a mission in Argentina for 18 months and just went back to school this Fall, and she said, "Oh, are you LDS? Which temple do you go to?" I was way surprised and asked her how she knew about that, and she said her daughters were born when they were living in SLC! She used to live near Nauvoo, too, and they went down to tour the temple when it was open to the public. She is another one, like the dog breeder, who can just talk and talk and talk, and never seem to run down! Both of them are interesting, though, so I can listen to them talk - I just knit and let them go on. And on. Oh, she said she used to knit, and she was very interested in the sock I was making. She had never seen knitting on DPNs before, and she looked it over carefully and watched me knit on them because she wanted to see how they work!

So the kids ran, and it was a small race with only about 4 schools there, so the girls varsity and fresh/soph teams all ran together and Kim did very well! I mean, she didn't win or anything near it, but she is improving as a runner and I couldn't be prouder, especially considering that the first 13 years of her life were dedicated to sitting on the couch with her blanky, playing video games and watching the Cartoon Network. I never ever thought that her interest in running cross-country would last past the first week!

We listened to the last HP5 tape in the car on the way home from the meet and finished the book. Rich hasn't read any of them, but he has listened to all of them on tape. I can't wait for the next one!

I have really got to get some more things knitted before the (stinking) craft show! I'm doing another pair of socks, but I need to do some hats and mittens, too. And finish a sweater! Aaugh! The pressure!

11:48 p.m. - 2003-09-23
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter