monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pronation and You.

In my whole life I never thought I would be studying how to run! I have been searching the internet for the last two nights, looking for tips on training and technique for cross-country runners.

There are at least two online magazines for high school runners, and I got a lot of good information from those, but tonight I had to dig a little deeper and learn more about the process of how a runner's foot strikes the ground than I ever wanted to know.

This comes from my desire to be a good cross-country mom, or it could just be a result of my pushy personality. Because I like my kids to be the BEST!

So this afternoon when I picked up Kim from cross-country practice, she said her ankles were sore from trying to run a different way. Apparently the other girls told her that she shouldn't be landing flat-footed, and they were trying to teach her to run ...hmmm, differently. I didn't quite get what the new ideal foot strike was supposed to be. She did her homework on the couch with ice bags on her ankles, and took some Advil, too.

As we were getting ready to take her to Young Women tonight she asked if we could write the coach a note so she could be excused from running tomorrow because her ankles hurt so much! My baby!

While she was gone I talked to Rich about it, and he said that she told him in the car on the way to the church that she is feeling really stressed right now, and he thinks that if it gets to be too much, she will have to drop cross-country. I agree, but she isn't talking about quitting, she is just wanting a day off to rest because she's in pain. We'll see how she feels tomorrow.

So I read up on different ways that runners land on their feet, and it sounds like everyone has a different style and that hers is fine for her. I'm going to tell her that tomorrow. For tonight I told her that she should wait until the off-season to try to change the way she runs; she shouldn't try to change in mid-season.

So what did Miss Stressed do tonight at YW? She auditioned for a part in the roadshow, so that she can try to work rehearsals into her already too-crowded schedule! That kid! She needs some time to relax and play some video games! There aren't any real "parts" in the roadshow - we wrote it so that all the speaking parts are spread out over the cast pretty equally, except for one female part, and even that isn't a big one. I hope she doesn't get it though. Being one of the chorus is demanding enough for her right now.

I am so tired! This has been a long week, and tomorrow starts 3 days off, and I need that! Yesterday one of the nurses who works 3rd shift told me that she sleeps with a fan in her room to help block outside noises, so I put a fan in the bedroom this morning to see if it would help. I can't tell if it made a lot of difference, but maybe it did, because I noticed some ladders and scaffolding against the neighbor's house today, yet I wasn't bothered by any noises over there. So maybe the fan is the answer!

Ruthann joined Curves and we went together today! Yay! She called tonight to say that she is sore all over and is trying to feel noble in her suffering. I told her to take some Advil and then blew her off so I could talk to Rachel. I'm glad that she joined - I haven't gone in two weeks, but now that I have someone to go with, I hope to get over there three times a week.

What I'm knitting today:

I found a pattern on the internet for two quick gift scarves, and I'm going to make a couple to sell at the god-forsaken craft show. I started one this afternoon, and I'm having fun with it! It's a pattern called Old Shale, a simple lace pattern that is easy but interesting to work with. The yarn that was recommended for this scarf is a mohair that isn't being made anymore, but I found 5 skeins of it in my stash! So I can make 5 scarves with it, unless I get sick of working on them.

Reading:

The Moonstone by Wilkie Collins. The local paper runs a book club column and this is the book they read last month. I remember reading it when Scott was in high school because he needed to read it and it sounded interesting. It's a mystery, but I don't remember how it ended and I'm really enjoying it.

1:52 a.m. - 2003-09-25
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter