monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The Monkey Thursday Orchestra

When I got to work tonight I found a new bottle of hand lotion -- it's called Coconut Melon Juicie and it smells delicious!! I mean it, I could eat my own hands! I love coconut, and anything that smells like it!

So tonight I forced Rich and Kim to go with me to a concert that Rachel told me about, one that her friend Shawn's band was playing in a small town near us. Rich went, but it was entirely against his will and he kept making noises like he was coughing up a hairball until finally I yelled at him and told him he had to make it fun for me! Kim was just going along with us but complaining that she was tired the whole time. (She slept all the way home.)

I made a phone call and got directions to the college where the band was playing, instead of just driving in the general direction and spending an hour driving around looking for it like I usually do when I think I know where I'm going. Since Rich wasn't really happy to be going, I decided not to play that game tonight.

Shawn is one of the group of Rachel's friends who called themselves the Macduffs when they were in high school, and as such, I have a maternal attachment to him (to all of them) so when she forwarded the email about the concert and asked me to go in her place, I could not say no.

It was kind of fun, and when the guitar player started playing the violin, Kim was very amused. He was strolling around the room and ended up by Kim - then he gave her the violin to play! She was so startled that she didn't play at first, then when he encouraged her, she sawed at it for a minute. That was pretty funny.

Shawn can play just about anything, and he played the keyboard, banjo, and accordian tonight. He's such a cool guy, who has a sad looking face and doesn't smile much, but he's very funny!

And now I'm back at work after two days off in which I did very little. I did go to the library today and got big pile of books to read while I knit. I have done some laundry, and put clean sheets on my bed. Yes, that's pretty much all I did. Other than that, it's been just knitting and reading.

It's cold and rainy here today, and I hope it stays this way until Diana gets here on Sunday because I know how much she enjoys WEATHER!

11:53 p.m. - 2003-10-03
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter