monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Shit, shit, shit, how much is that gonna cost me?

Last night was the last stinking football game for orchestra parents to work at, and Ruthann went with me, because she thought it would be fun. She has worked concessions before, when her daughter was in the high school, and it's like having a baby, you forget the worst parts. We were so glad when it was over!

We had a great week with Diana and her kids. I owe NicknNeil several Happy Meals now, for use of the F-word, and we found out that Diana has an unnatural interest in squirrels. They are all over the place and she thought they were adorable, and just wanted someone to catch one for her to play with - "I'll call it Foamy!" No amount of explaining that they are full of rabies and that they are just rats in cuter outfits would discourage her.

The kids played a lot of Nintendo, and Kim loved having them here. We drove out through the country a couple of times and it was very satisfying having Diana here to love the scenery, because I think it's beautiful, too. The kids were somewhat less interested - "Uh-huh, trees."

Diana decorated our porch for Halloween. We are supposed to buy 6 little pumpkins to finish the job, but haven't got to that yet.

On Thursday the missionaries called to see if we were still on for dinner, and I had forgotten like I always do, so it was a surprise. I had a hair appointment, so we left Nick in charge of making spaghetti casserole and he did a beautiful job. I had promised the kids that I would make homemade macaroni and cheese for them, so none of them ate the casserole, they said they would wait until the missionaries left so they could get their mac and cheese.

Rich had a meatloaf sandwich and then left for TaeKwonDo, so Diana and I had spaghetti casserole with the elders. We had some really good bread from a roadside market, too, and we gave them Bertie Botts Every Flavor Beans for dessert. What's not to like?

Then we made mac and cheese for the children and everyone was happy.

In order to tell you this Homecoming story, I have to tell you this - that ever since Diana's kids were little, the punishment for her, for using the F-word, is that she has to buy them a Happy Meal at McDonalds. Well, now that they are big, they don't eat Happy Meals anyway, but they always remind her that she owes them one when she uses the F-word. When my sister Sarah and I visited out there a couple of years ago, we used so much bad language because of some family situation that was going on, that when we left, we left 20 bucks on the counter with a note for the boys, telling them to buy a pizza with our "swearing money". So while the kids were here last week, they kept a running tally of how many Happy Meals we owed them. I think it got up to 11 or 12.

So, Wednesday was the Homecoming parade, in which I have no interest whatsoever, but Diana is a freak who loves parades, and Kim wanted to ride in the parade with the other cross-country kids, so we all had to go. Well, first Kim had to be dropped off at the meeting place so that she could be in the truck with her group, so we had to drive to the other side of town, since the parade included another high school this year, and it was starting from their school and marching across town to ours. Holy Crap, the traffic was terrible and there were floats and cars parked on both sides of the street, with people walking everywhere in front of cars and between floats and band members everywhere (Cole -one of Kim's friends - was walking around wearing his drums and got in my way so I yelled out the window for him to get his @$$ out of the road) and I was having a terrible time trying to find where Kim's group was and finally I said, "What are those two cops doing? Why aren't they directing the traffic? F***ers!" and Nick said, "What was that?" and I said, between clenched teeth, "I asked if you want a Happy Meal!"

We all had to get up at 5 to get them to the airport on Friday. Diana was expecting to spend the day in the airport, but she was lucky and they got a flight!

Oh, we went to Verna's Yarn Shop - ask Diana about her new needles!

8:12 a.m. - 2003-10-11
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter