monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Goodnight sweet Foamy, may flights of angels sing you to your rest...in the garbage can

Only one month left to the stinking craft show, and I started two baby sweaters this weekend. I'd like to get 5 of them done, and 5 watchcaps, then 2 more scarves, making a total of 5 scarves. I think that I have finished 4 scarves, but I can't remember what I did with the 4th one, so maybe I dreamed it.

So this weekend was a big nothing and very enjoyable. I intended to vacuum, but well, that never happened. Saturday when I woke up, Rich was watching TV on the living room couch and I sat and knitted and watched whatever he was watching. I can't remember what it was, no, wait, it was a show about the real Robinson Crusoe. There must have been no Buffy reruns available.

Kim was sleeping over at a friend's house and we didn't go to pick her up until 1 in the afternoon. It was a nice drive out to the country! On the way back into town Kim said that she needed to go to the library, a place that we are always happy to visit. (Ooh, Diana, next year when you come out here, we'll go to the cool NEW library!)

When we got home we just sat in the living room with the floor that still needed vacuuming and read our books. There was a dead squirrel in the road at the end of our driveway, with his tail blowing in the wind (I hope it wasn't Foamy!) and Patsy was in the window watching it, so I made Rich go out and clean it up. He is so brave!

Today was another day of doing nothing, and now I'm happy to be at work! Because I do nothing here, too, but at least someone vacuums once in a while!

Preston (PBJ) came over after church to watch The RM, which was just released on DVD and to my surprise, I found it at Blockbuster! I've been telling everyone about it! Go to Blockbuster and rent it, people!

The RM was made by the same guys who made The Singles Ward, but it's better. It's funnier than SW, although I was told that it is even more funny if you are from Utah. Apparently the parts that I found to be ridiculously far-fetched are actually based on Utah reality. Who knew?

A lot of the same actors are in this movie that we saw in SW, and they have better parts now, not so cartoonish. I loved the group of friends that the main character in SW hung around with, and I was happy to see them again, mostly in smaller parts, but all amusing. The main character from SW plays the RM's naughty friend, and he is so good at being a smarmy asshole that I really wonder if it's acting. Kerby Heywood as the RM is wonderful, very cute and understated - it would have been easy to fall into mugging and overplaying the role but he didn't do that at all. I'm looking forward to seeing him in the next Halestorm production, The Best Two Years, for which there was a trailer at the beginning of the tape. Yes, I had to rent a VHS copy because all of the DVDs were rented! That's a good sign, because if there is a market for LDS movies then more of them will be made, and will be available at Blockbusters everywhere, even out here in "the mission field".

What I'm reading:

L'affaire by Diane Johnson. Not as good as Le Mariage or Le Divorce, but I still stayed up past 1 a.m. to finish it.

12:06 a.m. - 2003-10-13
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter