monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Shock therapy - can I get a lobotomy to go?

The day of Kim's appointment with the podiatrist finally arrived! When I got home from work this morning she was asleep on the floor in the den, under a blanket, curled up next to the heat vent by my desk. Scott used to sleep in that spot all the time, and now Kim has moved into it.

I got home at 7 and the appt wasn't until 10, so I slept on the couch for a couple of hours until Kim woke me up to go. Oh, it's hard to get up when you've only slept for 2 hours! I was all groggy and felt dizzy, so I could barely walk to the car. I was a little afraid that I wouldn't be able to drive safely, but I kept taking deep breaths and forcing my eyes open as we got in the car, and I managed to get us to the office.

The x-ray showed that Kim had a stress fracture that was healed, and the doctor's examination showed that she had probably torn some fibers where the achilles tendon attaches to the heel - ow! He watched her walk and said that she needs orthotics because of the way her ankles roll inward - thank you, I was right about that! He can't make the orthotics until the tendonitis is healed, and she is having therapy for that for the next week and a half.

She had her first therapy today - it's electric shock therapy! Electrodes are attached to the foot, and an inflatable boot (with ice for her tendon) goes over her foot and then she gets bursts of electricity that feel like her foot is asleep, for 15 minutes. She said it wasn't bad, and just read a magazine while the machine did the work. 4 more treatments and then the Dr. will check to see if she needs more or if she's done. He told us to continue to ice it when she gets home from school, too.

She won't be running any more this season (we expected that), but once she has the orthotics, she can start her off-season training. I told her we would start looking for a used treadmill so she can run in the den while she watches cartoons in the winter!

As we were leaving the office, I noticed a woman in the waiting room knitting a scarf! I stopped to talk to her and admired her work - she was knitting with some really soft eyelash yarn on the cutest pair of needles! They were only about 10 inches long, size 15 - which is a very thick pair of needles, and they were made of a hard plastic, and they were bright royal blue! I showed her my ever-present sock knitting and she said that she doubted that she could ever knit on 4 needles at once, and I assured her that she could, and she said she had only just learned a new stitch. Purling? I don't know, but I wish I had asked where she learned to knit and where she bought that yarn. I don't want to work with eyelash yarn myself, but I'm always interested in new stores in the area.

Later when I was telling Rachel about our trip to the doctor, I told her about that woman and her knitting and Rachel said dismissively, "Eyelash yarn and big needles? She's just a trendy knitter." (Not a REAL knitter like us, she was implying.) I said that lots of people are learning to knit now because it's trendy but some of them will love it and keep on knitting for the rest of their lives, and she said, "Yeah, like Aunt Sarah," So there you go, Sarah, Rachel considers you a real knitter.

Diana and Karin both mentioned my yarn room in their journals recently, so I feel famous now!

And here's how my knitting is going:

1. White and pink baby sweater - body and first sleeve done, started second sleeve.

2. Purple WE baby sweater - down to the ribbing on the body.

3. White WE baby sweater - did a few more rows on the raglan yoke but it's not even down to the armholes yet.

4. Opal Black Cherry sock #2 - worked on them during Kim's foot therapy, almost ready to make the heel flap.

5. Colori sock #2 - no progress.

I remembered a baby sweater that I finished a while ago and never sewed in the zipper - anyone else remember it? So I'm going to force myself to sew in the zipper and maybe make one more of that style for the craft show, and then I'll call it done with the baby sweaters.

1:06 a.m. - 2003-10-16
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter