monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What goes around comes around.

So here I am, back at work. I've got my knitting, a book (Enchantment by Orson Scott Card - I've never read him before, so we'll see, but I'm feeling a bit doubtful), and uh, did I mention my knitting?

I woke up in time to go to the dentist today, and I made this appointment months ago, and the tooth has been bothering me, so I really needed to see the dentist, but then this ankle injury of Kim's came up, and she has to go to physical therapy 3 times this week, and my appt was at 2:30 and her's was at 3. So when the dentist's office called to remind me on Friday, I explained that this other thing had come up since I made the appointment and I really needed to do both, and they assured me that they would get me out of there by 10 to 3. I just wanted the dentist to look at the tooth; I knew he wouldn't have time to FIX it!

So I woke up this afternoon with only enough time to brush my teeth and get dressed and then I had to go to the dentist. I had a headache starting behind one eye, and no time to eat, but I thought I'd get something later. Oh, and I told Kim to just walk over to the Dr.'s office after school and I would meet her there.

I got to the dentist's office right on time, and then sat and waited. I read a magazine, and I just want to say their selection of magazines stinks, and checked the time, and waited some more. Finally, at 2:45, I told the receptionist that I had to go. Even if they could have taken me in right that minute, I couldn't have gotten out of there on time.

So I went over to meet Kim at the foot doctor, and she was just relaxing in a lounger, with her foot in the shock machine, looking all grown up and reading Teen Cosmo (like she needs to read that crap). It was so cute. I sat down and started bitching about the dentist's office and embarrassed Kim by saying the word Bastards in front of the nurse.

On the way home the pain behind my eye was worse, my blood sugar was low, and Kim said something to set me off complaining again, so then she got mad and started telling me all of HER complaints, and it just ended with us both feeling crabby.

I dropped her off at home and went to Ruthann's - we had arranged to meet and go to Curves - where she kindly fed me some lunch and folded her laundry while I complained. I think I'm going to change dentists and go to the one she uses; his office is in a small town near us, and it's not as frantically busy as the one I've been going to.

We talked ourselves out of going to Curves and made a run to the post office instead. I had the laser pointer to mail to Scott, and she had a big box of whatever to send to somebody. After the post office we were both feeling better, and decided to drag over to Curves after all. I wasn't happy to be there, and the owner was there today, babbling to one of the other clients about a bunch of crap that she'd read in Time and seen on Oprah, and at some point she mentioned that her mother worried about her when she was young because she ran 12 miles every day. 1. I doubt it and 2. Shut up.

So feeling virtuous because I had exersized, I went home and ...(wait for it)...made dinner! Don't be impressed, I baked some frozen fish sticks and french fries.

I was so tired that I went back to bed after that, and slept for about an hour, and then Kim came upstairs, talking on the phone, brought it into my room and looked at me to see if I was awake. By that time I was.

It was Grandma's cousin Shirley, the one she's been staying with in Omaha this summer. She was calling to let me know that Grandma left this morning with Roger and Marilyn to go back to St George. What she was really calling for was to tell me that she'd had a big argument with Marilyn, that ungrateful hag, and she was very upset about the whole thing. Shirley filled me in on it all and it was *highly* entertaining! Could Marilyn just be glad that someone kept Grandma and took care of her this summer? No, she had to get all bitchy and bossy, and make an ass of herself. I just hope that when she's an old lady that her son's wife (should he ever decide to start dating women) is as mean to her as she has been to Grandma. Is that wrong of me?

12:15 a.m. - 2003-10-21
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter