monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Isn't this week over yet?

Tonight I wanted to cook something, and I pulled some breaded scrod fillets out of the freezer, heated up the oven to 450, and proceeded to fill the entire house with stinky smoke!

The scrod fillets had some kind of greasy sauce imbedded in them and they were leaking all over the oven, so I put a pan under it to catch the drippings and opened a window to get rid of the smoke, and then as I finished that, the phone rang and it was someone from Curves to tell me that my credit card was denied again! I was so embarrassed, and I apologized, suggested that it was because I made my payment late (but I don't think I did), and she said she'd run it through in a couple of days. I was so stressed that I know it was coming out in what I was saying, as I rambled on about the smoke and the lack of sleep and the possible late payment, blah blah blah...

So later Ruthann and I went to Curves to workout and I saw my name was on the board where they write the names of people who need to talk to an employee, and since I had already talked to someone, I rubbed my name off when no one was looking!

As I was coming to work tonight, I remembered that I gave them that credit card number over the phone, and I suspect that someone wrote the number down wrong. So I'll check when I go in tomorrow.

It was a good workout for both of us - I wasn't dragging through it like I have been lately, and Ruthann is over her cold, so she was doing fine. Have I mentioned how annoying the employees are, though?

Actually, not all of them are annoying, just the two I see the most often, and I think one of them is the owner. She's the one who watches too much Oprah and claims that she ran 12 miles a day in high school. There is another one that I call Spiderwoman because she has the body build of a spider, but I don't think she realizes it, because if she did, she would stop wearing the skin-tight velour leggings with the matching jacket that ends at the widest part of her ass. She reminds me of a spider because she's not really heavy, but what weight she has is all around her middle and her arms and legs are thin, and those horrible velour leggings just accentuate it. I'm not sure why I dislike her, it's not really because she makes an effort to greet everyone by name, because why would that be annoying? She just seems phony to me, and that's reason enough isn't it?

So after the smoke, the phone call, and the workout, I was feeling pretty overwhelmed by noise and stress! I came home and took a shower and got in bed to try to sleep, but I just lay in the dark in my room for a while, and then got up and watched Queer Eye for the Straight Guy and knitted on the blue vest. I would enjoy knitting a lot more if the living room wasn't a big mess, but I'm not going to beat myself up about it. I have two days off this weekend and I'll do laundry and clean. Really.

I'm almost finished with Scott's blue cabled vest. I am hoping to mail it to him tomorrow or Thursday, along with the Chinese dictionary and a copy of his social security card. He wrote today and said the only pieces of ID he has since his wallet was lost are his library card and his license to preach, and he gets some funny looks when he uses them. I ordered a copy of his birth certificate online today, as he will need it when he applies for a new driver's license, and Rich got his social security number card out of the lockbox and he's going to photocopy it at work tomorrow. What a pain. Rachel lost her driver's license on the mission, too, but she had her passport for ID.

I'm working on the chihuahua sweater at work tonight, and hoping to finish it. I have plans to finish all of my half-done projects, just to feel the satisfaction of being done.

Unfinished Objects (UFOs):

1. Nagano sweater (started it oh, maybe 4 years ago, maybe only 3)

2. Scott's Norwegian sweater

3. Rachel's Big Surprise sweater (no longer a surprise)

4. Scott's blue vest

5. Gryffindor scarf for Althea

Wow, is that all? There's a sock in my purse, but that doesn't count.

New Projects:

1. Chenille scarf

2. Chi sweater

3. Zip sweater for Jeanette

I have been reading knitblogs and people are talking about knitting gloves, partly inspired by the article in the new Interweave Knits magazine, so you know I'm wanting to jump on that bandwagon! I need to do the burial socks, first, though.

11:42 p.m. - 2003-11-18
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter