monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The party's over.

Whew, the ward Christmas party is over and I'm happy, but it's a little like when you have an injury and it hurts a lot and twinges all the time and then when it's gone, something is missing in your life.

There was a near-disaster, but I didn't have to deal with it at all. The restaurant that was supposed to supply the roast beef suddenly shut down and the owners skipped town! We hadn't given them any money, so we didn't lose it, but we didn't have any meat for the dinner! Someone had the very brilliant idea of calling KFC and they came through for us with a huge order of chicken, and everyone loved it. Even me, because KFC is not my favorite, but I don't mind a piece once in a while, and anyway, they saved our dinner!

Rich took the afternoon off and went to pick up Kim and the borrowed harp after school, and I had time to sit and read and knit for a while.

I'm working on the Gryffindor scarf, and hoping to finish it this weekend and then start one for Rachel. She said she would make fringe on both scarves if I make another one, for her. It's a deal, because a scarf is long and boring, but it's good book-knitting when I'm at work, and I hate making fringe. (Sewing on buttons is another thing I hate, and many people receive a baby sweater from me with a card of buttons to sew on themselves. Yeah, you're welcome.)

So I am going to finish Kim's gloves and the first Gryffindor scarf this weekend. Only 3.5 stripes to go on the scarf and a thumb and some fingertips to finish on the gloves. I have to shorten all the fingers on the first glove because I know that Kim's fingers are longer than mine, but I vastly misjudged the length. Oh well, it only takes a few minutes to shorten them.

When the scarves and the gloves are done, I have two more pair of gloves in the works. They're fun to make!

Oh, back to the Christmas party - so I gave Kim a cute hairdo and she wore the long red velvet dress I bought at Walmart on sale for 10 bucks a couple of years ago, her pearls, and plain silver hoop earrings. And her black Docs. She was very beautiful; she's really growing up and it's breaking my heart!

Ruthann and I hid out in the kitchen and helped clean up afterward to avoid watching the Primary children's program. Everyone was letting their kids run around and be irritating afterward, so we left as soon as we could, and then when I got home, I realized that I hadn't supervised the putting away of tables and disassembling of the stage - I sure hope someone did it! (I'm sure it got done.)

Rich and Kim took the harp and went home as soon as she finished playing dinner music (and before the Primary program) and they took the van, to carry the harp, leaving Rich's car for me to drive. Too bad I don't have a key for it on my keychain. I called Rich and he came back to drive his car home. I still didn't put his extra key on my keychain. Yeah, I need to do that.

Kim fell asleep on the floor of the den, on a pillow in front of the heat register, and I considered leaving her there, but then I remembered she was wearing her contacts, so I woke her up. She and Rich were both asleep when I left to come to work.

I think I left a can of Diet Pepsi on the counter in the church kitchen.

1:05 a.m. - 2003-12-13
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter