monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Almost like Family Home Evening.

I just looked at my last journal entry to see when I wrote it and it was 3 days ago! This has just been a wierd week, with my sleeping schedule all confused because I'm not working, yet on two days I've had to go to work at 5 in the morning!

I haven't done much with my time off, mostly because I've been tired. Hmm, yesterday I slept during the day, after going to work at 5a, and when I got up I had to take Kim to the foot doctor to pick up her shoe inserts. I dragged over there with her, had to run back home to pick up her new running shoes, and then went back to drop off the shoes so he can cut the insoles to fit.

Ruthann was supposed to leave town early yesterday morning, but while I was out with Kim, she called and left a message that she hadn't left yet, so I hung around the house, waiting for her to stop by. Which she did, and I was all excited to go to the new library, and but she had already been there! Without me!

So I took Kim, and my library books that I checked out before the old library closed, and we went to the new library to check it out. It was nice, but reeking of new carpet - I hate that smell. I got some books and stood in line to check them out, behind an older man and the librarian was chatting him up and brought out a stack of books for him that he must have requested a while back, and asked if he's gotten a special invitation to the open house to celebrate the opening of the library, blah blah blah, and I was just waiting, but hold on there! Special invitation? I didn't get one! I pay that library more fines than anybody; I practically pay their salaries, and I didn't get any stinkin' special invitation!

Then I got to the front of the line, and the librarian, who I see on a weekly basis, barely acknowledged me! Hello? Remember last summer, when you were so happy to see me every week? I was keeping your numbers up, whatever that means, but you seemed grateful at the time, and now I get nothing? Barely a hello? No special invitation? No stack of books you've been saving for me? Apparently I am less popular than previously believed.

So I got library books and came home. Rachel called to say she was on her way home from school and would be arriving about 8, so we talked a while as she drove home. Kim vacuumed the living room so it would look nice when Rachel got home, and later Rich, Kim and I put in the DVD of The Ghost and Mr. Chicken that I borrowed from Ruthann.

When Rachel got here, we were watching a movie in the clean living room and the outdoor Christmas lights were on, and she said it was very welcoming, and looked like we care. Well, that's what we were aiming for.

4:04 a.m. - 2003-12-23
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter