monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Playing in the skeins.

It's so cold that this morning when I went out to start the car, I couldn't open the car door on the driver's side! I went around to the other side, opened that door and then got in and opened the driver's door from the inside. Then it wouldn't close! I left the engine running to warm up the car and then when it was time to leave, the door still wouldn't latch, so Kim is staying home from morning religion class. I left the car running and after another 30 minutes, we were able to close the door, so in a few minutes, I'll take her to school.

There is a dog here who is a little disappointed because she hasn't gotten a real walk today! We have been up and down the driveway, walked around our yard and also on our front sidewalk. That's all! It's too cold to walk around the block, even. It's -2 outside and I just looked on Accu-weather and it says there's a wind-chill factor of -23! It's supposed to warm up to 11 later, so I'll take her around the block then.

I'm so excited about the new catalog from Knitpicks! I haven't seen anyone mention it on the knitblogs I read, so it feels like I'm the only one who knows a big secret! Instead of selling yarn from various companies, they are selling yarn they buy themselves, and it's really inexpensive!

They have a lot of different kinds, including sock yarns, and the colors look beautiful in the catalog! I ordered a few skeins to try them out! On Wednesday I ordered enough merino sport weight yarn to make a hat like one they picture in the catalog, and I ordered the book that has that pattern in it. They have free shipping if you order more than 30 dollars, so my order will ship free.

Then yesterday I was looking through the catalog again and decided to order some of a different yarn, the worsted weight that they show made into mittens. I ordered enough to make a pair of the colorful mittens. I already have the mitten book that has that pattern in it, so to make my order total $30, I ordered some alpaca/silk blend in a lace weight to make a shawl that they show in the catalog. The pattern for that is in the book I ordered on Wednesday! So now I'm all excited to get my new yarns and try them out.

If you didn't get a catalog, you can see the stuff online at www.knitpicks.com.

Speaking of yarn, I know I mentioned that I moved a lot of tubs of yarn out of the yarn room, but now since the basement is wet from the massive rain and melting, Dave won't be able to sleep down there and will have to sleep on the bed in the yarn room, which means I had to move all of the stuff I had piled on the bed! Last night I carried baskets into my room and piled them on top of the tubs, and I sorted a couple of bags and boxes that were on the bed and put that yarn away in drawers, so I was feeling pretty organized! It's fun to look through the yarn, handle it, and just see what I've got.

Thankfulness:

I'm just thankful that the car warmed up so we could close the door before it ran out of gas!



7:16 a.m. - 2005-01-14
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter