monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Running out of Tide

I got my shipment of wool from Knitpicks yesterday and immediately sat down to cast on the colorful mitten as shown in the catalog. I ordered the Winter palette of colors for the mitten, and halfway through, I decided that I hated the color combination, so I ripped it out.

The yarn feels nice, and I do want to make something with it to see how it holds up to use. When we were watching Rachel's film, A Day in the Life recently, we talked about how much we liked the hat she is wearing in the film and this morning I found the pattern for it and started knitting it. (When I say morning, I mean afternoon, okay? Because I get up at 1 p.m.)

I cast on for what we call the Rachel Hat while I sat in the big chair in her room, keeping her company while she unpacked boxes and put things away. The room was such an overwhelming mess after moving day that it was depressing, and it looks lots better now!

When I'm done, I'll post a picture of the hat. The pattern was in what I think is the first issue of Family Circle Knitting in the Fall 95 issue. I didn't know a lot about yarn then (or gauge, haha), and I didn't have access to good yarns anyway, so I just bought some Red Heart in the colors called for, and it made the cutest hat ever, which all of her friend admired and some of them asked me to make for them, so there were a few Rachel Hats being worn around town. It's a very sassy hat.

I didn't have all of the exact colors to make this one, so I might have to buy more yarn to get it right. I substituted (just like when I cook, Diana!) a couple of the colors, and used some white wool from my stash, too. I'll see how this looks when it's done.

Thankfulness:
I'm grateful that I have a washer and dryer so that I don't have to wash the mountain of laundry (that Rachel contributed) by hand in a bucket!

11:48 p.m. - 2005-01-20
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter