monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cooking, knitting, and birth control. An ordinary day.

Ow! I was scrounging for change in the bottom of my purse when I got to work tonight, and cut my finger on a small serrated knife that I threw in there last week to cut up an apple. I managed to use the change to buy a Diet Pepsi before it started bleeding too badly, and then had to bang on the door of the office so Justin could let me in because I didn't want to put my bloody hand in my coat pocket to get my key! My job is so dangerous!

Two of Kim's (15-yr-old) friends are having sex with the same 18 yr old boy (one of them knows it and the other one doesn't and yes they are hoochies), and Kim gave each of them a slip of paper today with the phone number of the family planning clinic and told them they should go. Yes, it was my idea, and I did write the number down for her, but I'm proud of her for being bold and matter-of-fact about it with them. I told her she was just like Margaret Sanger! (Margaret Sanger opened the first birth control clinic in this country and was jailed for it.)

In lesser, but no less fascinating news, I could not find an Addi circular needle in size 4 at home, so I went to Verna's to buy one and she showed me the new sock yarn she is selling! Since I recommended it to her, I felt like I had better buy some, so I bought two balls of each of the colors she had, and cast on for a pair of socks with it already. She is carrying Paton's Kroy sock yarn, and she was apologetic about only having 3 basic colors so far, black, grey and beige, but those are a good start.

Rachel and I made miso soup with a recipe we found on the internet while doing a search for something else. She kept laughing about it because there were some unusual (for Americans) ingredients listed but all of them were in our cupboards. You mean you don't have sheets of dried tofu behind the jar of bonita flakes? You need to get over to the Asian market!

12:26 a.m. - 2005-03-03
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter