monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I go for a ride.

So I left work yesterday in the morning, got on the elevator in the lower level next to my office and pushed the button for the first floor.

The elevator was slow, and hesitant, and finally moved upward, but when the door opened, it was dark in the hallway and there were blackboards and stacked chairs in front of the door! Hey, that's not the first floor! I looked up at the buttons over the door and none of them were lit to indicate what floor we were on, which was creepy. I pushed the 1 button again.

When the doors opened, it was still the wrong hall, but there was a sign indicating that it was the third floor, and at least the lights were on. I pushed the button again and looked up at the indicator lights over the door, but they still weren't lit. I could feel that we were moving down, so that was good.

OMG, we're back at the dark hall, which I'm guessing is the second floor, since there used to be a sign next to the elevator that said there is no access to the second floor from this elevator. Evidently we can stop there, but we can't get off. This time someone came around the corner to look and see why the elevator keeps stopping, and it was someone I know, so we said hello and I explained that I was in the twilight zone with this elevator.

I pushed 1 again, and when the doors opened, I was back on the lower level, across from the vending machines, where I started. At least it was familiar territory. Pushed the button again and went back up.

And up and up and up! When the doors opened, I was on the 5th floor, the surgical floor. I got off the damn elevator and walked around the corner to find another one. Passed a nurse in scrubs pushing a gurney, and she gave me a brief look, since I wasn't dressed for surgery.

I found the other elevators, the bank of two that are in the south hallway and rode back down to the first floor. I had to walk around to the north hallway and pass the freaky elevator to get out to the parking lot, and there was a man standing next to it, pushing the up button. I told him that elevator had taken me all over the hospital and that finally I had to use another one and he looked a little concerned, but I didn't look to see if he got on it.

I just went home and went to bed.

4:48 p.m. - 2005-03-25
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter